Birthday Debrief in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • May 4, 2014, 7:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was... kind of a bit everywhere.

My parents drove over with Rocky Dog and that was super mondo awesome. I love my family in big ways and I hadn't seen any of 'em since Christmas. So, a little over 4 months... about 129 days. It was great! We hung out at the apartment a bit; went out to eat; and caught up on stuff. My dad had some pretty serious surgery on his eyes but in the process, he got 'em lazered up so he doesn't have to wear glasses anymore.

After they left, I hit up the video games and the finals studying. Still a bit worried about my final on Tuesday, but frankly- I take full responsibility for whatever grade I get in that class. I mean... I did kind of screw up my study schedule so... whatever happens happens.

The wife came home and... somethings were expected, some weren't. I'll do a narrative:

She came home and I asked how her day was; she said "fine, not much to talk about." I gave her a big ol' hug from the parents; and showed her pictures of the puppy exploring the apartment. She nuked some chicken bits and I opened presents. I got a Blu Ray Star Trek TOS season and the collected anniversary graphic novel of Infinite Crisis. She turned on the TV and I started reading the book. Apparently, trying to share some of the more interesting artwork annoyed her... so I tried to read quietly while she looked for something to watch. She wound up watching two hours of "Sex Sent Me to the ER" and that was the night.

That was... pretty much my whole birthday. I mean... it wasn't terrible but it wasn't awesome. No complicated sex stuff but no glimmer of hope into that possibility in the future.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 05, 2014

not sure what to say or think about that last paragraph. will have to read back to see what's going on. i came here to read you because i loved your note to saving barbie in response to ebonics. although i'm not perfect with all things english class but i cringe often when i hear people talking and when i read their entries. i hope you don't mind if i friend you. happy belated birthday. take care,

Fawkes Gal May 05, 2014

Sorry to read this, but I was kind of expecting it. For your birthday present to yourself, I say call and make an appointment with a counselor.

caramelchicken May 07, 2014

:( sorry to hear your birthday was ordinary. I hope you can get to counselling with your wife.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.