Moving! in These Foolish Things

  • May 10, 2021, 2:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey. How was your weekend?

In addition to a sweet Mother’s Day with mom and the whole family, mine was mostly “recovery” and it went as well as one could expect when you have not a whole lot planned except to recover from a chemo hangover.

What I did do this weekend is that I have decided that I’m actually finally going to move out of my little downtown one-bedroom apartment and move into a two-bedroom place about 20 minutes north of the city center.

Yes, this will be a change from my daily downtown living, but the building sits directly on a giant park, is surrounded by trees, is a two bedroom so I can have guests spend the night (and I can get a new king sized bed for myself!), and it will still be very easy for me to get downtown whenever I want. It’s just about the same distance to the office and is equidistant to the old and the new parts of this area (the “old” being the downtown area and the “new” being all of the new developments north of the city as it grows exponentially in that direction).

And most importantly, it will be a change. I just need a major change, and this will be the start of something larger. I want it to kickstart a new life. I am desperate for something different.

You know, I moved to that downtown apartment over NINE years ago as a temporary quick fix to my broken engagement. I needed a place to live and I needed a place quickly after I’d found out that my ex was cheating on me with pretty much every woman he met/knew. My plan was to live there long enough to get my head straight and get back on my feet and move on. I suppose I never moved on.

Well, I am moving on now. And I am VERY excited about a change. I’m very excited about getting out of the old space and into a new space and filling it with new furniture and new life.

So now, the preparation begins. It’s time to start the checklists and consider the packing and allll of the things that come along with moving. It’s a LOT…especially since I’m doing this during my chemotherapy treatment, but I think it will help me take my mind off of cancer. Do you know how depressing spending every waking moment thinking about cancer and chemotherapy is? And it was consuming all of my thoughts.

This should keep me going and on a timeline and force me to keep moving forward…keep moving! I like the sound of it.

The move date is in the beginning of July. I will take possession of the new place on July 2nd and be fully moved out of my current apartment by July 7th.

Here we go…
GS


Soliloquy May 10, 2021

Congratulations! So exciting! Definitely a great distraction to take your mind off cancer and have a fresh start after so long.

Amelie's Twin May 10, 2021

Woohoo!

Deleted user May 10, 2021

Congratulations! The new place sounds beautiful. Greenery is so healing, and I sense you and your doggo will enjoy the heck out of that park.

I’m very excited about getting out of the old space and into a new space and filling it with new furniture and new life.

YAAAAAS! Yay!

Complicated Disaster May 10, 2021

OMG! This is SO EXCITING! Woooooooooo! xx

WhatDreamsMayCome May 10, 2021

Exciting step!

Florentine May 10, 2021

Amazing! You’ve been ruminating over this change for a while which is a good indication that you’re more than ready for it! 🙌

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ May 10, 2021

Suuuuuch a long time coming!

Athena May 10, 2021

I'll miss you down here but this is going to be GREAT for you!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ May 10, 2021

I’m not going far. I will still want to walk and talk and brunch like there’s no tomorrow! 💗

Delilah May 10, 2021

Congrats! It’s been a long time Coming!

bobbi01 May 10, 2021

So exciting! You will make it gorgeous inside too I'm sure.

echopod May 10, 2021

That’s so exciting! If moving and packing is too much, you can hire some, most, a little of it, etc. If you go through all your stuff and purge, then hire packers/movers, it’s just the best part without the worst — we did that to move cross country twice.

Jinn May 11, 2021

This is very exciting and I am happy for you !

Marg May 11, 2021

Oooo exciting! A move date and everything! And to be fair you did try to move on but life kept handing you lemons on a regular basis! :)

pandora May 11, 2021

Congrats!! That's very exciting. Will you make the guest room a hybrid room? Like a meditation/yoga space with a bed, or somewhere to work from home? I can't wait to see pics! I hope you'll have help with packing/moving. This sounds like a very nice distraction to keep your mind off cancer and chemotherapy, which you must need a break from sometimes.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ May 11, 2021

Thank you! I def want to use the guest room as a hybrid, but also make it a super comfortable room for actual guests. I've had friends who've wanted to come stay with me since my diagnosis and I just don't have a place for them to stay comfortably, so I hope to make this bonus room something very comfortable for them and me :)

pandora Ginger Snap ⋅ May 11, 2021

I understand that! We moved from a one bedroom apartment to our house and it was a priority for me to have a beautiful guest room. Sometimes I like it even more than our room!

Wranglingal May 11, 2021

So excited for you and I have been so far behind in reading here, So sorry to hear of your situation. I will add you to my prayers. Sending you lots of healing during your chemo. The move will be a next new Journey for you!

plushcreep May 11, 2021

A change of scenery will be great for you. Congrats! The park alone makes it sound like a terrific location.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.