Herd Immunity in These Foolish Things

  • April 29, 2021, 5:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m at the office today and had two major meetings that lasted long enough and I feel like I’m just done for the day. It’s actually approaching quitting time, so I’m just going to journal until time to go. I need a mental break.

I heard a news story today saying that some of our area’s population has reached herd immunity for Covid and then they listed out several zip codes, including MINE! I’m not sure what that means exactly, especially since I leave my zip code every day and travel to an area that doesn’t have herd immunity as far as I know. What does all this mean?

And once we are safe to run around, am I going to even be safe to run around? Hmmmm.

I simply can’t wait until life goes back to something resembling normal. But then again, what is normal anyway? I’ve certainly had a NOT-normal last couple of years, haven’t I? I guess what I mean is that I can’t wait until I don’t have to worry about being sick or getting sick. Or at least I will be done with this treatment and then I can go back to being as healthy as I possibly can be AND living a life with a semblance of freedom to move about.

About where?

That’s a good question. I think I just want to get away from here for a while. Maybe it’s as close as the Grand Canyon again (that was the first leisure trip I took after my carotid blew). I found it to be so healing to be there - and also Sedona (same trip) - with all of the vortices and vibrations. Or maybe Napa to have a good douse of wine and fresh air and maybe stay in a place with an outdoor shower! Yeah. Something like that.

It’s nice to think about planning things and then doing them.

And then there’s the thought of moving. One of the places where I was exploring before (last summer) has an apartment with a floor plan that I really like opening up - in July. And that’s actually good timing because I’m supposed to give my apartment a 60-day notice. I’m going back there on Saturday afternoon to look at the place again to make sure I still like it. It’s a 20-minute jaunt from my downtown place so again, I have to be prepared to say goodbye to downtown life, and yet it’s still close enough to be able to go downtown frequently when I want.

Ugh. Can’t make up my mind! It will add 10 - 15 minutes to my commute to work and I’ll have to put Martini in a new daycare situation. But it would be a nice change.

Can you tell I’m feeling a bit restless? Can you tell I don’t want to talk about any medical issues AT ALL today? Can you tell I’m about over it?

I want that freedom. I want to be out. I want to go on dates and to brunches and shopping and wine tastings and hikes. I want to feel healthy and carefree. I’d love to get naked with someone someday.

I’m so ready for those days again, but I have to wait a little longer…
Longingly,
GS


colder April 29, 2021

I think we are all longing, but you especially have reasons to be longing! I hope none of us are longing longly… er… much longer

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ April 29, 2021

Haha! I know! We are all longing so hard. Ugh.

It’s a true lesson in patience.

Deleted user April 30, 2021

Sedona would be neat!

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ April 30, 2021

Yes. I loved it when I went in 2019 with [Athena]. Was a wonderful getaway/birthday celebration.

The Thirsty Oriental April 30, 2021

❤️

Jinn April 30, 2021

You will get there and it will be wonderful!

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ April 30, 2021

It will! xo

Complicated Disaster April 30, 2021

It's the infection rate in your community that's important, not any talk of herd immunity. xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 30, 2021

I get that, but I think it has to do with the number of people vaccinated. No idea why they were saying my area has herd immunity when we are still seeing cases and there are still deaths in the area. I checked. Yesterday my county reported something like 268 cases and 6 deaths...so. How can that be herd immunity??? I mean, it's down from 2K cases a day and 30 deaths, but it just seems like any amount of cases and especially deaths wouldn't allow for talk of herd immunity. Anyway. I ramble.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ April 30, 2021

Exactly! Doesn't sound like herd immunity to me! Stay safe! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 30, 2021

Def trying to stay safe!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ April 30, 2021

Good! <3 xx

Athena Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 30, 2021

Dallas County infection rate up 1% in last 14 days. Collin County up 31% in last 14 days! I hope their herd stays away from our herd!

Marg April 30, 2021

You more than most have had a rotten couple of years on top of the pandemic so I’m not surprised you’re restless and longing for the old life back. Yeah it’ll be a while to wait yet but it’s definitely coming - hang in there! :)

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ April 30, 2021

It's coming for sure!

pandora April 30, 2021

A mini holiday sounds like a really good idea right about now.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 30, 2021

I know. Like a weekend getaway or something. Hmmmm...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.