DISCO DAY Playlist in These Foolish Things

  • April 23, 2021, 9 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guess what today is? It’s DISCO DAY! It’s the day when I get Foxy (my portable chemo pump) disconnected from my chest port after 48 hours of infusing me with chemotherapy drugggggsss. Ugh.

I always feel a weird sense of aaaahhhhh and a little bit of dread because I know that the steroids and anti-nausea meds they pumped into me before the chemo will wear off after disconnection and I will have a let-down and could feel super sluggish and gross.

And yet, DISCO DAY is always a good thing because that means that I will be one step closer to being DONE with this treatment!

A couple of you have asked about a DISCO DAY playlist, so I played around last night and created the below list. I’m not super into 70s disco music, but the more songs I found, the more I realized that I can’t listen to ANY of these songs without singing and dancing along!

So, without further ado, here’s my first DISCO DAY playlist. I plan to update this list with more current music as well, but this one is purely 70s disco:

I’m Coming Out (my pump, that is!):

Stayin’ Alive, with a nod to [Tigressa]:

I Will Survive, for obvious reasons:

Brick House, because you have to have strength to get through this shit:

Get Down Tonight, because I will definitely be getting down in my bed later today:

Play That Funky Music, because all this old funky music makes me keep moving:

Boogie Fever, because I don’t want any other kind of fever!

Shake Your Groove Thing, because I sometimes get the shakes when I feel weak, so why not just shake the groove thing?

You Make Me Feel Like Dancing, because I can actually move fully after Foxy is disconnected:

Shake Your Body (Down To the Ground), because that’s where I’ll end up if I dance to ALL of this music:

Found a Cure, because duh!!!

Some Kind of Wonderful, because I’m looking forward to the “wonderful” when all of this is over!

Tell Me Something Good, because we all need to hear something good:

Last Dance, because this will hopefully be my last (and only) dance with this horrible disease:

So there you have it. My first DISCO DAY playlist - I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did cruising for songs! I swear i did shake it to every single one of these songs.

Enjoy friends,
GS


Complicated Disaster April 23, 2021

Great tunes!!! <3 xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 23, 2021

Your idea, so thanks!!

Amelie's Twin April 23, 2021

I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLAYLIST!

Gangleri April 23, 2021

I dig it.

Parliament April 23, 2021

Spotify?

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ April 23, 2021

Apple

lanaleigh April 23, 2021

Jinn April 23, 2021

I love it !

simple mind April 23, 2021

Glad to see you're not only making it through but also playing that funky music. :)

Ginger Snap simple mind ⋅ April 23, 2021

Totally! It may sound nuts, but this music therapy WORKED for me!

plushcreep April 25, 2021

Oh, I could create a killer DISCO playlist. I've always had a soft spot for the music!

pandora April 27, 2021

Fun playlist!! You need some Sylvester on there too. You Make Me Feel, perhaps??

Marg April 28, 2021

Oh that was a great walk down memory lane for me there! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.