Sunny Coast in Adventures in paradise

  • April 21, 2021, 9:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finally had my beach-day I’ve been wanting for about two months! It was a gorgeous day yesterday so I decided to jump on the train and head to the Sunshine Coast. Takes about 2.5hrs to get there but I just zoned myself out as I do. A few questionable characters hopped on the train at some of the usual dodgy stations. One lady hopped on with a joint hanging out her mouth and asked the elderly four nearby if they had a lighter 😅
The husband told her no and that she shouldn’t smoke here as there are cameras everywhere. She then hopped back off the train 🤷
Sitting in the quiet carriage still couldn’t avoid them.

I transferred to the bus and got to Maroochydore. It was where I often went on vacation with the family as a kid, so it’s a bit nostalgic, and hasn’t really changed all that much besides a few different shops and upgrades.
What I didn’t count on was the Ironman and Ironwoman competition being on this week, so a lot of roads were closed around the beach, but I could still walk onto the beach. I just had to walk a bit further up the beach to sunbake. The Pacific Ocean felt so nice walking along the shore. It really was a perfect day for that competition, and lordie-lord, talk about HAWTIES all over the place. So glad I had my sunnies. I saw pecs and abs and tans and my thoughts were anything but innocent yesterday 😁
All the country’s surf lifesaving clubs were competing up the beach a little bit also, so it was all happening. Given that I live on the world’s largest island, we have a LOT of Surf clubs, so there were longboards and trailers all lining the dunes.

I probably only spent around 2.5/3 hours there though. It was quite warm and even though I had sunscreen on, I thought if I hung around much longer, I was risking sunburn, being the middle of the day. I went to a gelato store across the road and ordered a lychee, ginger and chocolate cone. It was surprisingly yummy! I was going to get two scoops, but figured it would melt too fast, so I just opted for one.
I’m glad I went. It was nice and relaxing and the Sunshine Coast just has a different vibe to the Gold Coast.
Bus and train ride home was no issues and I didn’t get back too late, like I was originally planning to. I’m getting old when a day out involves me only staying for less than three hours 😅
I don’t know how I’m gonna go at Big Gay Day next weekend.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.