Waving at Mars in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 20, 2021, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

These trees were not in bloom when I left to go to the beach. The slender maples that surround the patio well did not have leaves. I didn’t have an actual carrot coming up in the garden plot.

Unexpected sun and clear skies will do that.

When we were at the beach, we had clear skies all three nights and could see lots of stars that are not even close to being visible in the city. We had been talking about The Ingenuity, the little helicopter that they took a chance on as we were driving out. And there near the crescent moon was Mars. We waved.

Having a star map app one can hold up to the night sky is so helpful. We sure didn’t have that when we were kids.

Yay for Ingenuity and how great that so many of the lead scientists on the team are women.

It would be great if I could get in the habit of doing one thing off my “Things I Don’t Want to Do” list every day. I have a local tax form I have to file for my yoga business. I don’t owe anything, and in the past, I just filled out an exemption form but now I have to fill out the whole form and provide pages from my other returns.

I need a new phone, but I don’t want to deal with shifting everything over. I need to negotiate a new price on my Internet. I am paying Highway Robbery prices for that.

You get the picture.

My doctor, my GP is leaving after almost 10 years. I am sad because she saw me through a lot of stuff, and she is a she. Her recommended replacement is a guy. I will try. It was a fill in doctor about my age (a guy) who going over my profile after I started having heart trouble there at the end of the job that made an offbeat suggestion that cured my migraines after 48 years of them.

Have I mentioned lately how grateful I am not to have migraines anymore???

I used to always get at least one migraine when I traveled and this last weekend away, not even a hint of one. It was always part of the calculus… how problematic is a migraine going to be… Once I went to New Orleans for a conference and oh, the headaches. Still, I enjoyed that trip enormously. A little Zydeco, anyone? One learns how to tough it out.

Even though we are having a crazy allergic year here, not a hint of one.

The cats have been all over me since I got back. Carlo is all, “Mom, I am bored” and Diego is, “Mom, if you are sitting down, I need to be on you somewhere, that is my job and I take it seriously.” Diego seems to be feeling okay. The clinginess appears to be habitual.

Tomorrow I am going to take the bus home from the grocery for the first time since last summer. There are finally getting the drivers vaccinated. That is so crazy to me that they weren’t considered front line workers when they are out there driving day in and out with non-compliant people. This situation has truly show us who we value in real terms and who we don’t.

I am still hesitant though. Our hospitalizations are up. The local Health Authority says it is these seemingly small gatherings, karaoke night, a family barbecue, a small indoor concert and the like that are causing these outbreaks.

My bus ride to the store is 15 minutes max. And I will double mask.

My young neighbor answered his door the other day when I dropped off a package that was mis-delivered to my patio well while I was gone. The delivery person reached over the wall and put the package in the stack of tomato cages I borrowed from Mrs. Sherlock and then took a picture of it. They had no clue where that was and ended up getting a refund. It was a big surprise to see the package.

He was telling me all this without a mask. I had one on. If I were young, I think I would have trouble taking this all seriously too. Until I lost a loved one…


Last updated April 20, 2021


mcbee April 20, 2021

The young feel bulletproof, but there are always some who are affected by this. Still, it's not enough to really scare them.
Getting rid of migraines is huge. When I had them it was perimenopause, and once I had my hysterectomy they became rare. I always thought they were hormonal.

PickAFiveString April 20, 2021

What was the offbeat suggestion that cured your migraines? Thanks! :o)

noko PickAFiveString ⋅ April 20, 2021

Elavil for just under a month at bedtime.

Marg April 23, 2021

I was thinking instead it would be great if the things I don’t want to do list just disappeared for ever lol! So glad you got away to the beach - sounds like it went well. I hate it when these delivery drivers take photos of obscure places and don’t tell you where it is - I’ve spent ages trying to figure out which neighbour has the doormat I’m seeing my package on! And yes they definitely should have been up there with the prioritised vaccinations.

Jinn April 24, 2021

We are having a lot of new cases too ; more deaths and all our local ICUs are full. I think people just started to think the virus was over and stopped being careful. 🤦‍♀️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.