Ah in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 16, 2021, 2:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

From this morning just after sunrise. My inner beach pony is very happy.

We are having a warm snap, very unusual in April. Last night Most Honorable and I went for an hour walk on the beach as the sun was setting. It is never warm enough in April for us to do this. A wonky side effect of climate change. With the added benefit of not having to wear a mask it was a win win. I even took my jacket off and wrapped it around my waist half-way through. The freedom feels intoxicating.

The city out here is working with our big research university and they are doing dune reclamation by planting a particular kind of native dune grass. As the little house we are so privileged to stay in when we come out here is right on the beach, the dunes out front are always changing based on the wind and weather patterns. This will help stabilize them.

This morning will have been the most peaceful of the three days we are out here. As we move into the traditional weekend and folks recognize that the weather is going to be hot, not just warm, in the inland valleys, they will be streaming out here. We are two blocks away from a very popular beachside brewpub that has managed to stay open on a limited basis throughout the pandemic except for the original lockdown.

This town was hit hard at the beginning of the pandemic and they have limited health care facilities. That is why we did not come this time last year after coming in April for at least the last 14 years or so.

Kes made a Quiche Lorraine on Wednesday night and we had it last night. We brought easy to heat up food so she could, we could all, but her in particular, take it easy. She has her first big appointment with the hematologist on Monday to help understand more about this blood disorder she has.

One of Most Honorable’s colleagues passed away unexpectedly last Friday and there has been this intense scramble to adjust and backfill. My traveling companions are both at about and 8 or 9 on the stress-o-meter scale. My job is to stay calm and make decisions.

I can do that. :)

We won’t be dining out. We brought enough food for, oh, about a week and a half even though we are only going to be here for 3 ½ days. Still, it is so good to get away.

The cats sure did give me a look when I was leaving. They will be fine. My cat sitter is excellent and is even going to give Diego his B-12 shot today.

I am officially fully vaccinated as of today. By brother (who is staying with Kes and Most Honorable’s cats) and Most Honorable himself have had their first shot. All of us have had the Pfizer vaccine.

My hives are mostly gone, and the itching has stopped. As side effects go it was a pretty minor one. The itching lasted for about 5 days. My beloved dermatologist offered a high-powered cream, but it didn’t get that bad.

Next week my handstand club starts. I am both looking forward to it and feeling a bit apprehensive. Some of the stuff I can do fine, but my arm strength and leg flexibility (since the big fall) are limited. This is all also quite challenging for the core.

Mrs. Sherlock renewed her membership in our gorgeous Japanese Garden (where Mr. Finch and I used to go all the time before they renovated it) and wants to take me soon so that is something to look forward to. She is gearing up for a big charity bike ride as well. That is her handstand practice.

This doesn’t feel weird, (in spite of the glorious weather) because we have been here before, including last October. Getting in a car and driving somewhere and doing something with a non-family member is going to feel odd as all get out though.

Same thing…getting on a bus.

But that is then and this is now and now the kites are flying and all the Covid dogs are romping around and the sand is warm. Ah.


Last updated April 16, 2021


Deleted user April 19, 2021

Sounds heavenly! Congrats on being fully vaxxed and being able to do something with it. Glad the hives are subsiding, too.

Jinn April 24, 2021

I would love to be on a beach :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.