Once You Know in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 12, 2021, 9:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here is the drama shot from the weekend. Walking with the crew we turned onto a street that I had never been on before up on the neighborhood where the 1% live. Well, actually, the just over 1%. I am sure all those folks that are sending things into space and making a mint during the pandemic don’t live near, but those the next rung down, do live here.

The housing market in Portland and the surrounding area is absurd. And a lot of stuff is for sale. Mrs. Sherlock and her co-executors just sold the condo that her friend that died last year lived in for way over market in a week. They got 11 personal letters from buyers saying why they would be right for the place.

Anyway, this place is amazing. I need to go back and take more pictures. It has this particular kind of mossy rock garden fountain waterfall thing that has a name that they were working on in an episode of Rosemary and Thyme I watched last week. And an abandoned extensive greenhouse. One of the near neighbors told us it was a large estate at one time. It is owned by a family now and I am sure there is a story there.

We had a lively walk. I started getting tired towards the end, but it was a lovely day, one of those both hot and cold days all at the same time and it was excellent distraction from my hives.

I have so much compassion for folks that live with chronic hives. Oh gosh.

Towards the end we stopped so they could get coffee and they had a fascinating discussion about the movie Nomadland, which I have not seen. Mrs. Sherlock did not like it that much and Charity did. They listened to each other and found value in each other’s points of view. That morphed into a somewhat intense discussion about making assumptions about other people’s experiences that ended amicably but had some heat behind it. They enjoy sparring. I learn in the listening.

Mrs. Sherlock loves learning about other people, that is why she enjoyed traveling so much. Charity has strong opinions, and they are so funny together. These walks have been an absolute gift for me.

We found a beautiful fragrant blooming hedge and I identified it through iNaturalist as a Privet. They have been in practically every country novel I have read but had no idea what they really looked like and now I know. Yesterday walking on my own I found another in the neighborhood.

That is so cool. Once you know. You see them. Like the mature bald eagle that flew over me towards the river yesterday looking for a snack for the little gray bundles in the nest.

Down at the garden, using my new circular hoe to tackle some rowdy Lesser Celandine that was loose in the pathways there was this other weed that I am seeing everywhere here this year. I found out it is Dead Nettle. And it is edible.

I was taking a bath with soothing oatmeal after the walk and watching a Gardeners’ World from last season and Monty was planting Dead Nettle at Long Meadow! Once you know you see these things everywhere.

Most Honorable got his first shot on Saturday evening. His neighbor is a surgeon and she texted him to say a local(ish) hospital had “extra” and needed arms. He got the Pfizer vaccine too. It was so great; he went and there was only one person ahead of him. As those of you lucky enough to have had the shots know, it is a huge relief.

Looking back at my 750 Words entry from this day last year, it was a big, exciting day because my first mask came, and I wore it out on a walk by myself. It is remarkable to think we have vaccine so soon.

And if you are still waiting for your shot, I know how crazy making it can all be. Even with the hives I don’t regret it for a minute.

Speaking of the hives, I had new ones yesterday but today none. The first ones are dissipating and so I am feeling better. Still tired, but better. Kes is encouraging me to share this with both my regular doctor and my dermatologist as well as on the v-safe app.

Our case counts are up. It is unnerving. Not so many people dying but this is a rough road to herd immunity.

Oh! And best news of all. Diego is back to normal after 3 days of some pretty intense probiotics.


Last updated April 12, 2021


Deleted user April 12, 2021

Goodness, now I realize what the big patch next to my childhood home was: Dead Nettle. We wouldn't go near it because there were earwigs in there. I don't know if they like Dead Nettle or it was just a coincidence, but I've been conditioned to get the creepy-crawlies whenever I see it.

I hope your hives are on the way out. They can be miserable. Happy Diego is back to normal! Getting my second shot on Friday. Cannot wait!

mcbee April 12, 2021

I didn't register on the v-safe because I had not complications at all. Hives sound miserable but protection from covid sounds better. Good news about Diego!

ODSago April 12, 2021

That nod to enjoying the conversations by two women who saw the same movie and had different responses, if I remember correctly, is why I love belonging to a book club. You had hives? On my gosh! I had a full body chill with my hands flapping so hard and so fast I could n't use them...my entire body was shuddering and freezing -- but easier to get over than hives, for sure. So sorry. Love those walks. I am considering looking for come compatriots who are readers and chatters as well as slow walkers. I'd like that and they may be out there. I think my brain processes are slowing due to my living alone and being alone 24/7 most weeks.

noko ODSago ⋅ April 12, 2021

What a lovely idea. We have walking/hiking groups here and they have a spinoff called "The Ramblers" and they all walk slow and make sure there is a bathroom along the way. :) They are still wearing masks here but have resumed the group activities. I bet if you investigated or tapped one of the great resources you have come across you could find a group there. The groups are really good about talking about interesting things and I bet your garden knowledge would be a huge boon.

Ragdolls April 12, 2021

My privet hedge is just now showing some tiny green leaves. One thing that I learned about privet is that you can't kill it no matter how severe a "trimming" you give it. We have a horrible plant here called stinging nettle. Oh my, brush up against it and the pain is ferocious!

I've had both shots now. Had no choice as to the vaccine so I was given the Moderna one. Bad reaction both doses. Had I known how bad it was going to be for me I would have tried to go to a different county that offered the Pfizer one. My friend was able to get it and she had no issues. Just relieved that it's behind me now.

noko Ragdolls ⋅ April 13, 2021

Everyone's response to the vaccines has been so different. I am sorry yours was so difficult. The side effects are real and I understand why they are downplaying them because of course then folks will be hesitant to get them. Apparently the reason the nettles here are called "dead" is because they don't sting. I have encountered the stinging kind in the woods. Interesting about the privets. I think the shape of the leaves are pretty.

Jinn noko ⋅ April 24, 2021

My reaction to the Pfizer was rough and I am not looking forward to the second one . However I will do it .

Marg April 17, 2021

You sound like you have so much fun on these walks with those two! I had only recently heard of those letters people write when they are putting in offers to buy a place - we don’t have that practice over here. Sooo glad Most Honourable finally got his shot - I bet he was overjoyed! And great news about Diego - I bet he was also overjoyed but in a more catlike fashion :)

Jinn April 24, 2021

Hives would be terrible .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.