All Manner of Things in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 9, 2021, 10:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not all the tulips are open yet out there, but a number are. The daffodils are on the wane.

A couple of weeks ago I woke up with a few itchy bump blotch things on my shoulder and the center of my back. Later in the day I noticed a few more and was relieved because they were on the top of my other hip, which meant it couldn’t be shingles paying a reprise visit because they crossed the center line of my spine. I thought it might be that I had managed to get a spider caught in my clothes.

And I didn’t have any nerve pain.

Yesterday I woke up with an itchy bump blotch under my knee and on the inside of one thigh. I put Benadryl cream on them and ignored them, later in the day I noticed I had some scattered across the outside of that thigh and hip.

It has got to be hives. And they are a (possible rare but) noted response to the virus. Because of the timing, I am pretty sure they are an immune response to the vaccine. So far none on my face. All of our bodies are just that much different, and I also felt some of the tiredness I felt on day two after the second shot yesterday.

I am trying to be compassionate and not give myself a hard time for not getting much of anything done. All the basics are getting taken care of, all the maintenance stuff but nothing else. Certainly, no projects.

The other thing going on here in my small little world is that Diego has been having a flare up of his irritable bowel condition. I don’t want to go into detail but the net result is that he doesn’t feel particularly good and has been clingy with the big eye make me feel better, Mom, look. Ugh.

When I adopted him, I knew there were going to be challenges so I am not complaining. He has a high quality of life and is eating and normally active but there is like this add on effect as we are all dealing with the should I, shouldn’t I uncertainty of some of us being vaccinated and some of us not.

Everybody is interpreting the CDC advice differently here. Seriously, both Charity and Mrs. Sherlock are officially fully vaccinated as of today. They are not wearing their masks over their noses when we are out already. I still have a week to go and if they were to drop the mask rule for grocery stores, I would not go in one.

Our case rate was over 600 yesterday and we had 7 deaths. Excuse me, but this thing is still going on. I don’t want to be a stick in the mud over cautious annoying person and after a week from now I will feel comfortable in Mrs. Sherlock’s car and house without a mask, but I think I am going to find this uneven re-entry hard.

Maybe it is my hives talking.

The Monday after next they are opening up vaccine eligibility to anyone 16 and over that wants one here. Folks will be able to go to clinics and more pharmacies to get their shots instead of the other side of the historic horse barn at the fairgrounds like I did.

Granted, my inner pony was intrigued and relieved to see the farrier’s shop go by, but it was a field trip I would rather not have taken. On a long walk on Tuesday Charity was telling me I was giving Princesses a bad name by repeating that I was acting like one and then disparaging my “self-involved” behavior.

We stopped and talked to just about everyone on that walk. As we were coming home, we ran into a woman, maybe in her early 70’s, with the most adorable golden colored girl Havanese named Brandee. The woman was not wearing a mask and asked if we were vaccinated and said she was. The dog was most interested in my bag where I often have dog biscuits for Frieda and my pants which I am sure were covered in clingy cat smell.

Recently, there has been dog show and tell on the hangout just before yoga on Zoom. It has been pretty funny and cheerful. I have learned a lot about different kinds of dogs, and for my longtime students… though I have been hearing about their dogs for years, it is cool to see them. It is also a bit of an ice breaker for the newer students.

I guess I just need to embrace the day, itchy skin and needy cat and all. The sun is out, it is warming up a bit and all manner of thing shall be well. Or things, if you are of a poetic inclination.


Last updated April 09, 2021


Deleted user April 09, 2021

I hear you on the uneven re-entry. It bothers me that so many seem to act like the pandemic is over. It's nowhere near over. If it was, we wouldn't need a vaccine in the first place. The virus is out there, it is real, it is being passed around, and it is lethal.

toddslife April 09, 2021

nice fowers

Marg April 17, 2021

So sorry about the hives - that’s got to be maddening I would think. Yes I think folk are going to go pretty crazy as the restrictions lift - just hope it doesn’t put us all right back to Square One again!

Jinn April 24, 2021

Hives are awful. Hope they are all gone now.

noko Jinn ⋅ April 24, 2021

They are, thanks. It was about five days. Not fun, but no big deal.

Jinn noko ⋅ April 24, 2021

I think itching is as bad as pain sometimes. I know when I have poison Ivy ; I would rather deal with pain :-( .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.