The Struggle Continues in Steps to Change

  • April 30, 2014, 2:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My struggle to lose weight and get in shape continues (those two should probably be reversed, but one is more on my mind than the other).

Really, that's about the only summing up that I can do. I am trying to work out more consistently, and to push myself during my workouts rather than being a lazy-ass. It's working, somewhat.

I've officially met two of my goals (I posted a goal list sometime back, but am too lazy to figure out where or link to it again :-P). Pushups (20) and Situps (30). Though I've done 30 pushups in a set, too, forgetting that that wasn't a goal (50 is, though I took a break on working for it).

The concrete goals are helping, I think (though I'm now thinking that some should be discarded in favor of other goals of similar difficulty - we shall see if I do or not). They give me something tangible to shoot for, rather than just "be in better shape", so that I can actually plan steps and track achievements.

I've not yet tried to lose weight, really, and have fallen off the wagon of healthier eating/giving up booze (between storms and consoling a friend, I stand by both decisions). I might have lost a few pounds, but if so, not much. I guess I'm just ready to not look like this anymore, even though I know that will take a damn long time.

I can haz time machine plzkthx.

Other shit is going on, but that's a different entry for a different day. More frustrations, basically.


sparkyray May 05, 2014

Have you incorporated a tape measure? I find it excellent for self-shaming/motivation, rewarding, and honest recording. Scales are too fluid (water retention, sore muscles, muscle mass all change things).

AwaitingCrescendo sparkyray ⋅ May 06, 2014

I did in my go-round at the start of the year, but didn't see much change so I mostly gave up on it. I might start again soon, though (I'm still exercising some, but have lost my drive - I've got an inkling as to why, but need to mull it over some).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.