III. in Languid Contentment

  • April 28, 2014, 11:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

PRESENT

"Lexy?" “Hey! LEX! Snap out of it!”
Johnny had set his guitar down and was staring directly at me.
“You know, you really freak me out when you zone out like that.”
“Sorry Johnny…it’s just been a long night.”
“Yeah, yeah I know. Well you know the drill. Blankets are in the hallway closet. I’m going to go finish Fight Club. Get some rest; I’ll see ya in the morning kiddo.”
The next morning I woke up to a bag of smelly food staring in my face with a note taped to the side of it.
Thought you might want some food. I’m out for the day. Stay out of trouble.
-Johnny

I opened the bag and found two breakfast burritos and put them in the microwave for thirty seconds. I sat down at the table and noticed a pink envelope with Johnny’s name elegantly written on the front slightly hidden under some junk mail. I’m not the type to pry into anyone’s business and I knew it wasn’t my place to open it…but for fuck’s sake it was a pink envelope with his name on it. The dude was not a pink guy. It had to be some sort of love letter, and ever since I have known him, I’ve never once seen him with a girl. After contemplating, I came to the conclusion that no harm could be done and slid the letter out of the already opened envelope.


Dear Johnny, It’s been six months since I have heard your voice, and almost a year since I have seen your beautiful face. I love you so much baby and I never meant to hurt you. I’ve tried calling you again and again and you won’t answer. Writing to you was my only way of getting my words across to you. Please Johnny…I need you back in my life. You’re the love I’ll never experience again. I know in my heart that we are meant to be, just give me another chance. I’m sorry things turned to shit between us, but you know you will never find someone that will love you the way I love you. I refuse to give up on us. Meet me at the park where we first made love on June 19th at 9 p.m. I promise it will be worth it. Love always,
K.


I folded up the letter and put it back in the envelope and noticed there was a picture in there as well. It was a picture of the two of them in front of the Hard Rock Café in Las Vegas. He had a goofy face and was doing the devil-horn-rocking-out thing with his left hand. But she was absolutely gorgeous. Whoever K was, she had beautiful long black hair and lightening storm eyes. They looked so amazingly happy together. June 19th was a few days away…I had to make sure he was going to that park she was talking about. Whatever they had together, this was a love you don’t want to lose. But how was I going to get him to go if I was not supposed to even read this letter? I put the letter back where I found it and left Johnny’s and figured I would think of a way somehow. Two hours later I found myself floating in my apartment thanks to some vodka I hid from Charlie under my bed and my beautiful football shaped pills. Charlie was gone and he didn’t bother to clean up his fucking mess and I was too stoned to give a shit. Neil Young was playing on my stereo and I shut my eyes, letting my mind wonder to moments long gone.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.