Goodreads in Stuff

  • March 17, 2021, 11:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished reading “Honeybee” by Craig Silvey. Not what I expected at all. I’m glad I didn’t read any reviews so I didn’t even know what the plot was going to be. It used real Australian cities with fictional characters and I really enjoyed it.

I forgot how much I enjoy reading and letting my imagination create an image of the characters. The main character of this book however was probably depicted on the front cover so I couldn’t really stray too far but the others I could.

I’ve been on the ‘Goodreads’ site/app for a while but hardly anyone I know uses it, other than a cousin and a friend’s boyfriend. I don’t know anything about him other than what he likes to read (oh and that he’s got a huge dick but anyway). Apparently he is also an author, according to his profile.

The problem with me wanting to leave reviews on my profile on ‘Goodreads’‘ is that I feel I’m easily entertained. I’ve tended to give most of my reviews 4’s and a few 3’s. This one got a 5. But I don’t really read enough to know what I should be giving deserved 5’s to. Some other reviews didn’t like the book at all. I found myself wondering, “What the fuck is wrong with you?” 😅 Had I read that review and it put me off reading the book, what a shame that would have been.

I’ve also been having fun going back and rating a lot of books I read in my childhood. Granted, I can’t remember what even happened in pretty much all of them, but there were a few who’s title stood out that I recall absolutely loving.

12-year old me would have given “Finders Keepers” by Emily Rodda 5-stars when I read it in the mid 90’s. Easily. 37 year old me still gave it the 5-stars because I can recall how it made me feel all those years ago. I wrote that in the review. Then I saw a guy I’ve never spoken to but happens to be on Goodreads added it to his “To read” list. Umm, it’s a children’s book and he’ll probably hate it, reading it as an adult, but okay 😅

Anyway, maybe I will read books I dislike. I only gave the Bible 3 stars, even though I’ve skipped a few of the boring books within it. Someone had written a comprehensive review of each book in the Bible. That’s dedication.

This entry isn’t really about anything.


Deleted user March 17, 2021

I don't like reading book or movie reviews before watching movies or reading the books I'm on Goodreads I'm not really sure what my name is but I'll find out I just logged into it for the first time the other day in like a year I had a pile of books but then I put them in a box. Sometimes when I read reviews I realize that person and I could never be friends

s.q.u.e.a.k March 19, 2021

My favourite book as a teen was cloud street. I desperately want to read it as an adult to see if it still has the same feel to it 🥰

KissOfLife! s.q.u.e.a.k ⋅ March 20, 2021

Omg that's what I want to do with "Finders Keepers" by Emily Rodda. I just don't want to be disappointed as an adult! Haha.

crunchie March 20, 2021

My favourite books as a teen was definitely the “tomorrow when the war began series by John Marsden”. 5/5 for me!

crunchie March 20, 2021

Also I don’t think I’ve ever watched a movie without reading the imdb reviews or read a book without reading the goodreads review lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.