I have a sofa! in Stuff

  • March 5, 2021, 9:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finally have a sofa! OMG.
I was asked to stay back at work on Thursday when I’d organised for it to be delivered after I was meant to finish at noon, so I said I’d work until I got the text that the delivery was on it’s way. I only read the text 20 minutes after they’d sent it, as I was so busy as usual. Fuck!
I pretty much left everything as it was and hightailed it out of there. I didn’t know where their Brisbane depot was or how long they’d be. I don’t think I’ve walked home so fast in all my life, and it’s about a 25 minute walk each way (which I do every day normally) but I think I made it home in about 15 lol. The delivery guy rang me as I was on the home stretch. Of course there were cars everywhere and the guy was like, “I can’t hear ya, mate!” and I was like, “Are you in the dock?” (thinking I’d just say I’d come down so he didn’t take off again having to wait for me.)
“Nah, I’m just crossing the Story Bridge! I’ll be about 10 minutes.”
Sweet! I told him about the construction and that he’d have to enter via the other street and then I checked with the construction guy manning that entrance. He said it was all sweet. Awesome! I just went and stood in the dock.
A small van pulled up shortly after. Sweet! It fit in the back of a small van. He took my four boxes out and we got them to the lift. The lift was quite cozy but I managed to stack them on top of one another and got them up to my level! Crisis averted! And with the “No contact delivery” thing due to Covid, I didn’t have to sign anything and the delivery guy was on his way. I pushed them out of the lift and up to the end of the hallway (and of course one of the employees was doing inspections as we’d also had ours earlier that day), and then inside the apartment! Everything fit! :D Holy shit. But man, it was cozy inside with all these boxes, especially when I unpacked everything. Talk about packaging! They definitely pack it all very well. I don’t even think I’ve ever seen that much cardboard at WORK, let alone in my apartment at one time. I basically had to use my room to store cardboard and the housemates bathroom to store plastic, whilst I got everything out to assemble.

Now there’s only 8 “gumnuts” to tighteb, but man they were an effort. So finicky. I was getting quite frustrated and sore working with just millimeters, trying to figure out why one would always be loose. I even eventually got there with one side, but then the other the same happened. In that time, my housemate arrived home. I’d thankfully removed all the plastic to the downstairs bins in time before he did, otherwise he wouldn’t have been able to access his bathroom haha. There was literally that much packaging. He was kind enough to help me with the other side, and even he couldn’t get it to tighten. Eventually, after probably three hours all up, everything tightened as it should, and we lifted the pieces together to connect.
The ottoman was last to put together. The biggest box but the easiest to assemble. The ottoman is huge, but I love it. It needs to be big to suit the sofa, and there’s still room around. It’s just big haha.

I tell you what - I’m so glad I didn’t buy another sofa from Matt Blatt and go through the stress of that courier again, let alone if something else came up (despite me triple-measuring everything) and it potentially not making it into the apartment and then me having to go through the expensive process of getting it returned, AGAIN. This sofa can be assembled and disassembled into parts that I can take most places, so I think it was a good investment.
And I didn’t even want to go to work today because all I wanted to do was ‘play’ with the sofa. OMG you guys - it is SO comfortable. So much so that I put my cushions on it, and they are harder than the seats and backrest are. I said to my housemate that I could easily fall asleep on this. I don’t think he liked the sound of that haha. Anyway, point is, it fits the space perfectly, it’s big enough to stretch out on sideways, and with the ottoman it’s like having a chaise, but I can move the ottoman obviously. And I finally don’t have to sit on the floor or my camping chair after two and a half months. I am SO relieved, and comfortable. I think out of all their options, I made the right choice for me.

But my God, cutting up all that cardboard into pieces was tedious haha. It needs to be cut up to fit into the recycle bins. I ended up getting a shopping trolley from the dock, bringing it up, carting everything outside into the hallway and into the trolley and taking it down in one swoop. Then a quick vacuum with the Dyson (MAN this has been an expensive year lol) and I was all done!
I watched another Dekkoo movie (“Velociraptor”) which started off lame but by the end I was engrossed in it. I never knew such a movie could come out of Mexico about a gay and a straight best friend, but there you go.

I had a big day at work today and my arms are so sore after it (probably also a combo of putting together the sofa and all the packaging removal/cutting etc) so I am glad to be home and on the sofa again. The problem is that I’m already a homebody and my housemate is away this weekend so I will probably be even more of a hombody since I’m still in the honeymoon-period with this sofa, which of course I am on typing this. Brande will be coming over tomorrow evening I believe. He is much more traditional with his furniture tastes so it’ll be interesting to see what he thinks. Vish still thinks I am buying the Matt Blatt one, so he’ll b disappointed when he learns that I haven’t gone through with it. I got burned once. It was a matter of risk, and practicality, and I may have had to pay a little more, but if I can move this thing (should the need arise) then I can do so with more relative ease in future. The Matt Blatt one would still be one piece. Anyway, live and learn, and have I mentioned how much I love this sofa? :D

Normally I’m at Mardi Gras this time of year, but giving it a miss this time. I’ll watch the telecast tomorrow evening.


s.q.u.e.a.k March 05, 2021

Woohoo!

Swanny March 06, 2021

Yey!

cazoob March 06, 2021

Yay! What a saga! So glad it's comfy!

~Octopussy~ March 10, 2021

The drama of the sofa has finally ended. It's like Star Wars ended, or the Infinity War saga.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.