Transitions in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 2, 2021, 6:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is in line with my mood. Still with one foot in winter and restrictions and lockdown and one full of hope for a verdant and sometimes sunny spring. I got my garden plot assignment today. I have a Zoom call shortly but will go down Thursday to check it out.

The Zoom call is with an experienced yoga teacher (she teaches teachers) who lives in Sonoma County California that wants to pester me (in a kind way) with technical questions about how I have adapted my practices and teaching online. Ha! As if I had a clue what I was doing. I met her on my weekly teacher’s call. She has a cat named Oliver. One can’t go wrong with someone with a cat named Oliver.

Charity, Mr. Sherlock, and my sister Kes all have had their first shots in vaccine-land. I am so happy with this news. Unfortunately, on Monday, yesterday, they changed the system and now even though I am eligible I am in a lottery for an appointment. Unless of course you are lucky and know someone who works in a pharmacy that are getting a few doses a day, then you might be able to get one.

Not all the pharmacies here are getting vaccine. It is a total crap shoot mess.

The electronic version of the murder mystery I checked out from the library was due back yesterday morning and so I stayed up late to finish it. Then when I got up, I did everything I could think of with the advice from friends, family and my hiking group, to snag a vaccine shot appointment.

I was completely frazzled after a few hours of that. And no better off.

Now I wait. And hope my number comes up sooner, rather than later. At least before mid-April when we are scheduled for a few days away at the beach. You don’t realize how much you need to get away now and then until…

Mrs. Sherlock, Charity and I were having a fun walk on Saturday morning, when out of the blue it started raining. It wasn’t in the forecast and Charity did not have rain gear or a hood. She got pneumonia from standing for hours in the rain at The Women’s March and very much does not want a repeat performance. The rain came on when we were admiring the amazing cones of a Western Himalayan Cedar tree that are like nested Russian dolls with wooden flowers inside. I will be visiting that tree again. Apparently, they are known to only drop cones every three years or so.

The decision was made to turn for home and as we were doing that, we started to get a bit silly and then it cleared up. We went to a coffeeshop and I found a couple of benches actually in the sun. It was heavenly. We have had so much weather lately, it was nice to rest and have a break.

The conversation was lively.

Speaking of conversation, while I was out getting the mail, a group of about 25 sandhill cranes just flew overhead heading north in a messy formation headed off to Sauvie Island. It is a nearby island that is mostly agricultural in the confluence of our two big rivers. They come every year.

For this little slice of normalcy, I am grateful.

We have one more dry day before the rains return. I am going on a long walk with Charity tomorrow and hope I can get some of this spring restlessness out of my system.

It seems like the beginning of the end of the pandemic restrictions might be in sight with our caseloads about where they were in late summer, but we did just get our first identified case of the Brazilian variant.

I never thought I would long to be able to take the bus to the grocery whenever I wanted but oh, I am so there now. The bus! It is crazy. I am longing to take the bus. And get my hair trimmed, and ride in cars and okay… I will stop now.

I am very excited about garden plot 27E.


Last updated March 02, 2021


Deleted user March 02, 2021

YAY! So happy you got your garden plot! And seeing sandhill cranes would be such a treat. I have never seen them in the wild.

janeanger March 03, 2021

The vaccine distribution is also a total crapshoot mess here in PA.

Zipster March 03, 2021

Congrats on getting your garden plot. What do you plan to plant?
A lottery does not seem to me the way to accomplish mass vaccinations. I hope something opens up and you are able to get yours sooner.

mcbee March 03, 2021

Another beautiful picture from you. You definitely have the "eye" for what will translate into a good picture.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.