"Minimally Invasive" in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 26, 2021, 6:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Don’t believe the hype.

When they tell you something is “minimally invasive” and it has to do with taking out a huge chunk of your body, trust me. It’s MAXIMALLY invasive.

I almost can’t believe I was released from the hospital the next day. I mean, my own docs told me it’d probably be Thursday before I was discharged, but I have been home now since Tuesday and while I’m feeling good and alive, I am also feeling very, VERY sliced open.

Yesterday I had some major scares. It’s going to get a bit TMI here for a minute, so look away if you’re squeamish, or read on if you want some hilarity.

I took some of the tramadol the day before yesterday. I’d asked for the weakest painkillers they could give me as the strong stuff makes me barf. But even tramadol is an opioid, which makes you constipated and I’m supposed to be “going”, right? So I got scared that maybe I blocked myself up with the stuff and I couldn’t get anything out!

Like, I felt all this gas rumbling and rumbling in my lower belly, but it wouldn’t come out! Did I trap it with the tramadol? Is there now a blockage? Did something close up inside of me? I definitely couldn’t bring myself to poop! And I didn’t want to push because I thought I’d break apart where they put me back together!

Anyway, after I calmed down and settled down I was able to get some of that trapped gas out and even later was able to get some liquid-y stuff out (I know this is gross, but it’s literally what I’m living for right now), and felt like I was moving forward again. Whew.

Also, remember that my sweet 82-year-old dad had been staying with me, and telling your sweet old dad about your issues is surreal. But, it was what it was and he handled it like a champ.

But wait. There’s more TMI, and this is where it gets wild!

I decided I finally needed to take a shower because, duh. Plus, my friend JK was on her way from the Great Midwest - flying in to relieve my dad of his duties. I really needed to at least smell like a human being, even if I didn’t really look like one.

So I got in the shower and was carefully washing my face and arms and around to the back and I felt something odd inside my butt cheeks, so I kind of reached in and pulled at whatever it was. I didn’t need to pull too hard, but it kept kind of pulling out of my butt…and it turned out to be a string of some sort!

Y’all. When I tell you I pulled a string out of my butt… I mean it was like a 5-6” string that was kind of like dental floss! I literally thought I was pulling out internal sutures that had come undone! I FREAKED OUT! Did I pull out my intestinal sutures?! What the HELL was that?!

I got out of the shower and called the doctor’s office immediately, and they were like, OK. We don’t yet have your surgery report, so we’re not sure what that could have been, but let us text your surgeon and call you back.

Finally got a call-back about 20 minutes later saying, “The surgeon doesn’t know what that could have been, but you are going to be OK.”

Like, what?

So that’s the latest mystery. I mean, I’m still here to tell the story, but I have no idea what I pulled out of my body and if it did me any harm. It doesn’t seem to have done harm. I’m still living and breathing and seem to have all the functions, but WTF?

I’d say the two things that hurt the most right now are laughing and coughing, and I actually did a lot of that last night when JK and I were reminiscing about long-ago times and I had a laughing fit (which included snorts, so you know they were big laughs) which started a coughing fit which in turn made me need to just settle down and go to bed.

I’m so glad JK is here. She is taking good care of me. My apartment is trashed and looks like a tornado hit it because she is sleeping on the floor and there are snacks and flowers and just amazing things everywhere. The only thing we don’t have yet is my dog, Martini, and we’re going to try to go get her this weekend so we can go on walks and start doing normal things again.

And it’s funny, she is like, are you OK if I open this bottle of wine and drink? And I’m like, it sure is because this gabapentin makes me feel pretty drunk all day anyway. What a trip this is.

So here we wait for the pathology to see if we got all of that Mass in the Ass out of me. They are checking the lymph nodes that were taken out to see how things are looking.

If you’re still reading after all of that, can you please take a second and send whatever your good vibes may be? I know for sure that they work. I know this 100% and I love you for it.

Here’s to the cleanest colon EVER,
GS


Athena February 26, 2021

I would have FREAKED THE FUCK OUT about a string and probably ended up in the emergency room. Be very very kind to yourself. This all sounds totally normal — except the string part. Little Bogey took tramadol. I think that's a good solution for someone who doesn't just want to sleep through the whole next two months.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ February 26, 2021

Right?! I definitely want to be here and present and as relaxed as possible.

sparklespeterson February 26, 2021

Good thoughts your way!

Ginger Snap sparklespeterson ⋅ February 26, 2021

Thank you!

Marg February 26, 2021

Bloody hell I would have totally freaked out at that as well! Bet the surgeon was going oh that’s where that went in his head :) Sorry - I shouldn’t joke - you’ve had such a traumatic time lately - you’re a wee trooper! Good vibes at the ready😊

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ February 26, 2021

This made me laugh. I was thinking the same thing! He dropped a little something in there and lost it and just left it...

Marg Ginger Snap ⋅ February 26, 2021

I was going to say I'm pleased but I realised making you laugh is not such a good thing right now! :)

Satine February 26, 2021

Thinking of you and hope you keep healing and laughing. Everything crossed for clean margins and clean lymph nodes. ❤️

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ February 26, 2021

Thank you, thank you ❤️

Florentine February 26, 2021

All the good vibes! 🙌

gravity February 26, 2021

Holy moly, I would have flipped the hell out. You're a champ! Stay strong, you are getting good vibes from all over the place.

Complicated Disaster February 26, 2021

At least you didn't explode when you pulled your butt rip cord! 🤣🤣 Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 26, 2021

Oh my god!!! This is SO TRUE! 🤣

Fred February 26, 2021

All the good vibes are going your way.

Ginger Snap Fred ⋅ February 26, 2021

Thank you so much, sweet Fred ❤️

Complicated Disaster February 26, 2021

Also, 🤗🤗🤗❤️ xx

colder February 26, 2021

Ok, I'm glad they didn't turn you into one of those toys where you pull a string and it says something random. :)

I'm glad you have so many people helping you and sending nice things. Keep resting and mending!

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ February 26, 2021

This is exactly what Best Bud said!! 🤣

Soliloquy February 26, 2021

Maybe you were just pulling the price tag off your new and improved colon?

Here's to healing fast and a clear colon!

Firebabe Soliloquy ⋅ February 26, 2021

Holy shit, this made me laugh so hard! 🤣🤣🤣

Ginger Snap Soliloquy ⋅ February 26, 2021

🤣🤣🤣

Deleted user February 26, 2021

Gives new meaning to the term "butt floss." Glad you are improving and that you've got a buddy there to take care of you. Wishing you a speedy recovery and a clean report.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ February 26, 2021

🤣🤣🤣 thank you for the laughs!!

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ February 26, 2021

I feel your pain. When I had staples after some abdominal surgery years ago, I was afraid to sneeze, cough, laugh, or poop. Best part is that they told me I couldn't leave the hospital until I had pooped, but I was on Percoset. I was so afraid I would end up exploding like Mr. Creosote in Monty Python's Meaning of Life.

Firebabe February 26, 2021

I can literally see the surgeon taking the call, furrowing his eyebrows, scratching his chin, and going, "String in the ass... String in the ass... Nope. No idea what that could be," with a perplexed look on his face. LOL.

What a roller coaster. Glad that you didn't pull your stitches out and that you're on the road to recovery!

Ginger Snap Firebabe ⋅ February 26, 2021

Ow! Don’t make me laugh so hard 🤣🤣🤣🤣

WhatDreamsMayCome February 26, 2021

In the immortal words of George Harrison, “All things must pass”
Your story is better than mine. 🤓
Good vibes your way.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ February 26, 2021

❤️❤️❤️

WizeArtWorx February 26, 2021

Omfg I would've lost my goddamn mind pulling anything out of me like that!

Sending you ALLLLLLL the good vibes ❤❤❤❤

Ginger Snap WizeArtWorx ⋅ February 26, 2021

It was INSANE!!
❤️❤️❤️

Kate February 26, 2021

Careful with Gabapentin and Tramadol. They do not play well together. But Gabapentin is FUN!

BTW: As long as nothing bled when you pulled it out, and you didn't feel a "tugging" or any pain, you are FINE. Trust me. I have had many, MANY surgeries.

Ginger Snap Kate ⋅ February 26, 2021

That’s weird that they prescribed them together??

And no, nothing bled and nothing pulled. It was like a random string just wiggling it’s way out 🤣

Kate Ginger Snap ⋅ February 28, 2021

Yeah, probably because Tramadol is not a very strong opioid. They just both suppress breathing. But if you are not taking high doses of Gabapentin, you are probably okay. I'm surprised no one told you to be careful.

The string was probably just a random suture that wasn't really holding anything important together. Have you ever had a stitch come out after dental surgery? Or maybe you swallowed some dental floss! LOL!

I'm glad you are doing better. I know you will come through stronger. I am sorry you have had so many challenges the last couple of years!

Nash February 26, 2021

Likely just the handsome surgeons way of stringing you along.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ February 26, 2021

Now THIS wins!

bobbi01 February 26, 2021

Perhaps surgeon was multi tasking? Getting ready for a night out. 😄Fabo to have your friend with you, and having Martini home will be great too. Xx

Gangleri February 26, 2021

Malpractice lawsuit time.

Gauze, maybe?

At Last February 26, 2021

I’m shocked they sent you home so quickly but glad you’re doing okay other than pulling a mystery string from your ass. Sending all positive thoughts and love that sooner rather than later this is just a bad bump in the road and distant memory

Bre M February 27, 2021

Sounds like things are looking up. Here's to good.vibes and feeling better!

pandora February 28, 2021 (edited February 28, 2021)

Edited

I wonder if it’s a random item from the surgery that they... forgot in your butt? I’m so glad that you’ve had people with you through this.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ March 01, 2021

After all the research I've done, it is something that's possibly pretty common as it was probably the tail end of the sutures that was snipped off and just didn't fall to the floor like it was supposed to.

Jinn March 03, 2021

Thank goodness it came out :-) Sending you tons of good wishes !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.