Twas the Night Before... in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 21, 2021, 9:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…surgery and all through the house…

  • It’s quiet now. Mom and Dad left on Friday afternoon because the snow and ice had started melting and the roads seemed okay and I think they were feeling really bad about having to stay with me and having me take care of them. Plus, I was stressing the fuck out with them here. I was worried about their well-being and trying to take care of myself and it was just a struggle.

  • They have power at their house now. They are still under a boil water mandate, but they are stocked with water. I never lost power OR water here at my place. How lucky. I truly can’t imagine what we would have done had my place been hit with broken pipes or electric issues.

  • Yesterday the weather warmed up quite a bit and the snow melted for the most part, leaving some icy patches. I went to take the dog for a nice long walk and to get the rest of the stuff I needed for surgery prep. There are a couple of things from that kit that the surgeon’s office has that I just couldn’t get, so I was having to make due. With my mind on all kinds of things, I’d been to two CVSes, a Walmart, a Target and was walking in the Walgreen’s parking lot when I slipped on some ice and fell flat on my ass (flat on my Mass in the Ass?) in front of a whole bunch of cars. Neat, huh? Kinda the last thing in the world that I needed, but luckily, my puffy coat protected me and I didn’t hit my head and I’m not even sore! Angels watching over me.

  • Hm…but where have those ass angles been lately?

  • I cried in the first CVS because I had to pick up more prescriptions for the prep and this time the instructions were not on the labels (I’d thrown away the previous instructions thinking I’d never have to do this again - at least not the following WEEK!). I asked the woman behind the counter if I could get some help from the pharmacist. The pharmacist came over and was the biggest couldn’t-give-a-care cunt EVER. She basically told me to figure it out myself and walked away. The poor assistant (not sure if that’s what she was, but she was amazing) helped me out and helped me calm down. It was ALL there in my records if the fucking pharmasist would have taken a second to be a caring individual. But the other woman actually went into my records and was able to find everything and hand wrote all of the instructions down for me and THEN she came out from behind the counter to try to help me find a couple of other prep necessities. I thanked her a million times over. And I hope to never see that pharmacist again. Jerk.

  • Since my surgery was rescheduled at a different hospital - one affiliated with another hospital where Dr. D has many cases, I decided to send him a text on Saturday. As is typical for Dr. D, he answered back right away! In fact, he told me that he was just talking about me the night before and asked if my ears were burning. Crazy, huh? Long story short, we talked on the phone and he told me that he had some of his med school buddies staying with him in his mountain house and they were reminiscing. I happen to know a few of his med school buds. ANYWAY, I told him what was going on and he said he was sorry but that it was a good thing to be taking care of it and getting treated. It was very nice to talk with him. He really is such a great guy when it comes to taking care of people. That is definitely his calling and he does that with such compassion. Now if he could just get over the whole Trump issue. Regardless, he said he’ll be waiting for word as to how things go tomorrow. I gave him Best Bud’s number and vice versa.

  • I’m super tired now. It’s nearly time to take the last of my antibiotics and go to sleep for the night. If I could, I’d write all night, I feel like I have so much to say, but I’m running out of steam.

I guess the next time I write I’ll be out of surgery and recovering. I can still use all of the positive vibes.

Love to all, and to all a goodnight,
GS


Deleted user February 21, 2021

Major well wishes for you. I hope it all goes smoothly and that you wake up to smiling eyes and mask-muffled voices telling you they got it all and everything is going to be okay.

colder February 21, 2021

Best of luck tomorrow!

Florentine February 21, 2021

Sending lots of love for tomorrow!

Fred February 21, 2021

Second time will be the charm. Good luck, you've got this!

WizeArtWorx February 21, 2021

You got this. Healing vibes to you ❤❤❤

balancedmom February 21, 2021

You got this! Praying for guidance for the surgeon, and healing for you.

Marg February 22, 2021

Lots of positive vibes and love for today - I hope it all goes well and they tell you they got it all when you wake up❤️

Marg February 22, 2021

And a pile of poo to that Pharmacist - she’s in the wrong job methinks!

pandora February 22, 2021

Sending all the positive vibes. Xo

Athena February 22, 2021

ALL THE POSITIVE VIBES!

sparklespeterson February 22, 2021

Thinking good healing thoughts for you!

Gangleri February 22, 2021

Good luck, again.

Deleted user February 22, 2021

Wishing you the very very best. 💚

Soliloquy February 22, 2021

Hope everything goes well!

Jinn February 22, 2021

Thinking of you ! Glad you did not get hurt with the fall. A curse and a pox on that pharmacist . I hope all her teeth fall out ! ❤️

lilypie February 22, 2021

Good luck!!

WhatDreamsMayCome February 22, 2021

Positive vibes heading your way!

Complicated Disaster February 22, 2021

Dr D is clearly the best!! <3 xx

bobbi01 February 23, 2021

I know you are through this now, (future you). I guess there is a reason some pharmacists are tucked away in the back.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.