Approval From the Other Side in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 18, 2021, 7:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is a little better than this out there now but not much. We are waiting for rain. I am so done, so done, with snow. Thanks, been good to know you. Bye.

The folks south of us are still without power, six days out now. Like so many people lately, Kes had a problem with a back tooth recently. She got an emergency appointment, and then another and early this morning they were thinking they could fix it but instead they had to take it out. She did okay but wasn’t expecting the extraction.

Imagine looking forward to going to the dentist because they have power and for the first time in days you can be in a place where people take care of you and it is warm. They did give her a temporary ice pack and I am glad because she will bruise, but worse would be the swelling tomorrow without it.

She says the power line trucks are two blocks away. Fingers crossed.

We were all a lot better prepared than those folks in Texas. Yesterday they had to turn our water off for 5 hours. And we had warning. I am feeling pretty darn lucky, as do all my students who have been able to join in the classes this week.

I even got some mail yesterday! Seriously, the things you take for granted. The garbage trucks were able to get in. Charity has been waiting to get her dryer fixed for two weeks and apparently the magic day is tomorrow.

Mrs. Sherlock was able to snag a vaccine appointment for Mr. Sherlock a week from today. That is if the vaccine delivery delays are resolved by then. It will probably be a month for the rest of us.

In the morning yesterday we trekked the 2 miles or so on slushy streets over to the biggest urban grocery and I have literally never seen as many people in the last year as were on the street and in the store. It was just thawed enough for everyone without cars to get out for the first time in four days.

I was double masked and turned my head away and got out of there in about 15 minutes but still…it was a bit unnerving.

Walking in the slush was not fun, (we were both sweating by the time we got home) but! It is really good balance practice. I had a singular trek pole with me, which is a lot easier in the grocery than two.

It was great to be out, we even had a little sun to help with vitamin D production and of course spending a couple hours catching up with Charity was good for my soul. And I got some shrimp.

We have 5 days of rain in the forecast and that means we might get flooding but oh well. All this adapting and adjusting and being flexible is something we may not like but are designed for as a species.

Kes is resting well, Most Honorable is teaching from campus and I have a Zoom presentation this afternoon on native plants.

Oh, and best news of all! I got a garden plot! Not the exact garden I wanted but a very nice one nearby. The one with the passion fruit vine on the fence. It is about a seven-minute walk. I get the exact assignment in a few weeks with instructions.

Now that I am in the system, I will be able to get a plot every year. And I can upgrade if I do well with my starter plot. I have lots of pictures of this garden. There is a gigantic oak above it and pretty much everyone mulched with oak leaves this year.

My oldest sister would be proud. Actually, I think I might be channeling her. :) She spent years making a community garden happen in her neighborhood and it was quite a bit farther away.

She would so approve.


Jinn February 19, 2021

Congrats on the garden plot !!! You will work hard but it’s so much fun!

Marg February 19, 2021

Oh great news about the garden plot - so happy for you - now we just need the weather to behave so that you can enjoy it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.