The Next Adventure in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 17, 2021, 8:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I put this up on Facebook yesterday afternoon but thought it was endearing enough to share here as well. While I was taking it, I noticed a younger professional woman was struggling to get her sedan that was parked on a slight incline across the street to get through the slush out onto the street. I had my grippers on.

She was trying to kick the slush away from her front tires, a behavior I saw repeated a number of times throughout the day as folks were beginning to try to move their cars for the first time in four days. I went and got my shovel and worked with her but in the end, she said her patients were canceling she decided to wait a few hours and I am sure was able to get out then.

Takeaway: If you know a storm is coming and you need to park outside, park on a slight decline, not an incline. Another lesson from climate change.

I did get a grocery delivery yesterday that was only maybe a half hour later than scheduled and with only a couple of things unavailable. Hello bananas! Welcome back. I gave the young woman a big tip.

The paper says we have police guarding the dumpsters at the big grocery store I used to shop at because there was a power failure and they had to throw out a lot of food.

Speaking of power failures…my brother got his back yesterday after being out since Friday night. Kes and Most Honorable and all the folks in her immediate neighborhood still don’t have power. I was looking at these pictures of the folks in Texas that didn’t have power since Sunday, and I am like…um…at least we have been above freezing for a couple of days.

Please send reconnected thoughts their way for today! Kes went to a local grocery yesterday, actually inside, that had power back, double masked because she needed to feel some agency. And get some cookies.

Th estimate for cleaning up the tree fall for their neighbor and them is $1,300 and that isn’t counting the roof repair. Everyone is coping but I am concerned about the “weathering” effect of all this stress.

One of the things I am learning in the Intuitive Eating course is the devastating effect of weight stigma on folks with bigger bodies. Weight stigma and yoyo dieting are being proved to be the causes of a lot of the negative health problems that fat people might have.

When Mr. Finch was in his last six months, he had that horrible wasting that bodies with lung cancer can get. He was thin to the point that I could see his bones. As some of you might remember getting him wanting to eat was a constant adventure. (The epic search for cupcakes without sprinkles).

In spite of the fact that I loved him and was taking care of him, my body had that human protective response of not wanting to be anywhere near him because…sick…possible contagion…danger danger. He was so attuned to me that of course he noticed, and we talked about it. And I made a huge effort to overcome that response. Curling up with him on the bed, touching him constantly, sleeping in the room with him.

My own fat phobia feels like it is that deep. This is something I am working on. I know that I can override it because I completely am able to do it with my students. Mrs. Sherlock is my best friend and I adore her exactly the way she is.

It is a question of perspective. There are some excellent yoga teachers doing great work in this area, and I am in the process of a deconditioning program where I am exposing myself to them more and more and sitting with the weight stigma that arises.

Talking to Kes has helped with this too as until her power outage we were Zooming every day for at least an hour and we talked a lot about this sort of thing. Like most folks that have no experience with clinical level disordered eating she thinks seeing folks in bigger bodies doing yoga is totally cool. They are role models for her.

Oh, and I had a live call with “The Business Guys” on Monday and we made it through my issues and were helpful with the procrastination on the website.

At some point I may think about turning the knowledge I am learning into something that is less patriarchal, but for now I am good.

The thaw here is taking forever. Charity and I are going to try to walk today anyway. It will be an adventure.


Last updated February 17, 2021


Queensuzu1 February 17, 2021 (edited February 17, 2021)

Edited

Cute picture. My grands made a snow family including their two 🐈 our last big snowstorm.

noko Queensuzu1 ⋅ February 17, 2021

Excellent. One of my favorite pictures is of a snow cat someone made on their stairs a number of years back.

Deleted user February 17, 2021

Ugh, slush. Second only to ice in car hassle. We're going to get "wintry mix" tomorrow morning. Good times.

Jinn February 19, 2021

It’s sad that it’s come to police guarding dumpsters because people would even try to risk eating spoiled food :-( Why isn’t the government helping them more ? I do not understand it .
I am so sorry Kes and Most Honorable are without power . How are they keeping warm ? When the electricity goes off here I feel panicky . This house is all electric and I think with the climate change we need to have an alternative source of heat at least . I want to look at generators and maybe a wood stove to replace our useless fireplace . It works but does not put out any heat . :-( Everything else we can do without but you need heat , food and water . I need to start keeping more bottled water on hand. When our electricity is out , the water does not work either .
Sometimes I think the stress from the virus and having to cope with the weather disasters / climate change is going to shorten all of our life spans. Just thinking about it all day in and day out is stress.
I have seen that fat stigma affect being hired at jobs too. I remember years ago when I weighed about 140 I got turned down for a job that I fully expected to get . When I asked why the office manager told me in confidence that I was too “ chubby “ and that the doctor preferred to only hire very thin people. After that I would not have wanted to work for him anyway but it bothered me for years. I did get that weight off but it’s always a struggle to stay at 120 because I drink soda and do not exercise much . :-( and since then I am always conscious of being aware if others are thinner than I am. It does not bother me what anyone else weighs , just me . I also have to watch my weight because my spine is unstable .
So glad the interaction with the business guys was positive :-)
I love the snowman !

noko Jinn ⋅ February 19, 2021 (edited February 19, 2021)

Edited

Thanks for this. They still don’t have power. For them the saving grace is a gas fireplace and stove and water. They have a neighbor that got a newer gas stove that shuts off when the power goes out! She is staying in a hotel. Because of wildfires and earthquake risk they had a good survival kit in the garage and lots of flashlights and back up power packs for the phones. They are sleeping a lot. There other neighbor sent her teenager to a friend with power so she could do online school. It is crazy.

Marg February 19, 2021

I really hope Kes and Most Honorable have power now - that’s been a good while. When Mother Nature pulls out the stops, our lives collapse like a pack of cards! It’s sad that society still has such stigma over people who weigh more than the average - I think it’s far more common than we think unfortunately :( Hope you and Charity enjoyed your walk!

noko Marg ⋅ February 19, 2021

They are pretty sure it was a single male restaurant worker on his way home from a long shift. He did not survive. So sad and scary.

Marg noko ⋅ February 19, 2021

Oh no - poor guy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.