The Perils of Advice...and Counsel in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 8, 2021, 8:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is a race to see if the daffodils are going to bloom before the snow comes. One thing that is different this year about the prospect of snow is that we are all well used to stocking up and staying in. I may do an extra grocery order just to make sure I have enough treats, or ingredients to make treats so I don’t feel deprived.

For so many of us, this has been one long snow day.

We are beyond cabin fever and out in a whole new world that is off the spectrum of our previous lived experience. I walked with Mrs. Sherlock, Frieda and Charity yesterday and we had a lovely time. Amazingly it did not start raining until literally two minutes after I got in. Mrs. Sherlock got the rain driving home.

There is this calmness to all of us that wasn’t there until a few weeks ago. We are all trying to figure out how to get vaccine appointments. Mrs. and Mr. Sherlock are on the waiting list for an appointment. But other than that, it is more like, appreciating the weather, talking about movies and food and dogs and cats and…

And in my case, navigating interpersonal communication. I have new neighbors and I needed to ask them to not play their music loudly after 10PM because I had a night last week where I had to go into the living area so I could get to sleep. It was so sweet, the cats just moved with me.

And I am participating in this Yoga of Business weekly call that I pay for with two business partners, both men in their mid-forties with families. One is a pretty well-known yoga teacher and the other is a music producer, very New York. Three weeks out of the month the call conflicts with one of my classes so I watch the recording. I participate once a month, but we exchange emails during that time, and I see the yoga teacher in another context on a call just for teachers every week.

This all has been helpful to me in setting up a class structure in this new environment that is easier for the people participating in my classes without using social media. Something I have been fretting about for years. I am not a person who has the stamina or desire to feed the insatiable maw of Instagram.

Anyway, last week before the call, I sent an email with some specific questions and a link to my Vimeo channel where I am putting recordings of two of my classes per week. I hadn’t been participating in the calls for a time and wanted them to know I was still out here doing the thing.

After the call they both separately sent me emails telling me that my videos were better than I thought and that they had talked about them on the call even though I wasn’t there.

I was oh, eek. There were five or six other teachers on that call. I watched it the next day. They brought up my videos and talked about them for almost 45 minutes. None of the teachers participated. It was just the two guys making commentary about the camera angle, the lighting, the sound, the sloping floor. They were making guesses about things. Oh, I think this one was shot in daylight and this one at night and so on.

Then I got a score. I didn’t ask for a score, I wasn’t interested in being graded, I wanted help with a couple of specific issues that they did not address because they only cursorily looked at my email and I wasn’t there. I got a 91 out of 100 in case you are interested.

A few days later I walked with my consigliere, Charity. Taking into consideration that she has absolutely no need for men, she told me that they were patronizing me. The “boys”. I said to myself after watching the call that I was glad the New York music producer wasn’t my dad.

Then later that day I had the unrelated Teacher’s call and I realized while I was looking at the Zoom square with the pretty well-known yoga teacher, who is in general a very nice guy, that I was mad. Yes, it took me two days to surface my anger because you know…a lifetime of working for men and…patriarchy.

The next morning, doing chores I got that Charity was indeed correct, they were patronizing me.

I wrote them and told them that.

Yoga Teacher Guy did apologize, but it was half-assed. Charity and Mrs. Sherlock advised that I end my relationship with them but understood when I said I wanted their expertise, on a live call, on my website. This isn’t about me; it is about getting a functional website that is attractive and useful for the folks that take the classes I teach.

I am sure this will be continued. There is another call tonight.


Last updated February 08, 2021


Deleted user February 08, 2021

I wonder if there are any woman-owned businesses who offer the same services.

noko Deleted user ⋅ February 08, 2021

Yes, my counselors also asked me that question. So far the ones I know about are all about using social media. If I find one (or start one) I will definitely jump ship.

Zipster February 08, 2021

So first, what is with your neighbors? is it not a given that you do not play loud music after 10pm. Has all consideration and decorum gone out the window. And really, men have been so entitled for so long that even those you might expect to be aware just simply aren't. It is my experience that men don't read and only hear every 3rd word if you speak. That they used it without your permission and most particularly without making sure of your presence is inexcusable and Mr. New York should certainly know better. Lastly that the apology was half assed is once again, entitlement exerting itself yet again, as if you are being oversensitive instead of them truly understanding and owning their fault with any sincerity.

Jinn February 09, 2021

I can see why you were offended. I am guessing that the quality of your videos was not what you were inquiring about.
I guess you have to be in on the calls to get much benefit. :-(

Marg February 09, 2021

Was it the scoring and ignoring of what you’d actually asked for that made it seem patronising?

noko Marg ⋅ February 09, 2021

Thanks for asking Marg. It was those things and the fact that they assumed I didn't know what I was doing. At least that was my perception, a mansplaining episode. I have a bunch of professional lighting equipment on loan and wanted to know how to deploy it a little better. Also, They didn't even try pronouncing my last name properly.

Marg noko ⋅ February 09, 2021

Ugh that must have felt horrible - and you’d think they could have got that small detail right after all this time!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.