C is For... in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 4, 2021, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Colonoscopy Prep. Oh lord, it started off fine, but then after I was finished with my prep I realized that I clearly hadn’t gotten everything out, so to speak, so I ran to the CVS last night before they closed to talk to the pharmacist about what I could do to get more out. Both he and the Google machine recommended magnesium citrate, which worked quite well, but I still wasn’t clear and I wasn’t going anymore by midnight. I decided to try to get some sleep and woke a couple hours later having to go…but it still wasn’t clear either. Again I Googled. Again out to the 24-hour pharmacy at 3:15am to see if getting an enema would do the trick. The pharmacist said that it wouldn’t necessarily do the trick. So back home I went and drank a little more magnesium citrate and by the time I got to the surgery center at 7:30am, I was as clear as I was going to be. I actually showed the nurse a photo and she said it was fine. Ugh. If only showing photos of my toilet bowl was the worst thing to happen today.

Colonoscopy. So yeah. I got there fine and was checked in fine and went through all the prep fine and got all set up and ready to go. The anesthesiologist came in and I told her about my carotid and aneurysm and all of that good stuff and she took extra good care of me. Rolled me into the surgery room with all of the TVs and cameras and such and the surgeon came in and told me he’d take care of me (yes, THAT doc who looked up my bootie a couple of weeks ago) and all of a sudden I was waking up…

The Big C. I can’t write it out just yet because it’s just sinking in. But after I woke up, the nurse helped me get myself together and get dressed and sat me in an office and told me the surgeon would be with me soon to talk about the procedure. He showed up a few minutes later with grave news: I have it. C is for…

Best Bud picked me up from the surgery center and I blurted it out as soon as I got in her car. I couldn’t help myself. I didn’t know what to say and my head was still spinning and it hasn’t stopped yet.

I don’t know much more, but I will in the coming days. I’m scheduled for surgery on February 15th. This truly feels like a dream, but not the kind of dream that I dreamed of.

GS


lessoff February 04, 2021

Random noter: a week ago I did a poop potion (8 oz of miralax and 64 oz of Gatorade). 4 ducolax tabs 2 hours before drinking that grossness. Anyway I had nothing left. I had to do it for a hysterectomy.

Anyway I hope you are ok.

Ginger Snap lessoff ⋅ February 04, 2021

Yes! That was exactly my Round 1, and it did not come close to taking care of my colon so I had to do a round 2 and 3!!!

simple mind February 04, 2021

:( Oh I am so sorry. hug

Ginger Snap simple mind ⋅ February 04, 2021

Thank you for the hug. So needed right now!

drawnwell February 04, 2021

In my thoughts

Ginger Snap drawnwell ⋅ February 04, 2021

Thank you, sweet friend. It's always apprecited.

Deleted user February 04, 2021

I am so sorry. I'm always here if you want to chat.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ February 04, 2021

Thank you so much, CN

Gangleri February 04, 2021

Oh man.

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ February 04, 2021

Yeah.

At Last February 04, 2021 (edited February 04, 2021)

Edited

This is so scary but you will be okay. I know it. Thinking of you.

Ginger Snap At Last ⋅ February 04, 2021

Thank you. I've missed you!

a girl thinking February 04, 2021

Ugh. Sending love and light.

Deleted user February 04, 2021

So sorry. 🤍

Deleted user February 04, 2021

Oh man. This is scary, and I'm so sorry you are going through this. We are all here to listen and to encourage you any time you need it. And anyone who reads you knows how much strength you have in you.

bobbi01 February 05, 2021

So glad you followed your instincts and had the exam. Early detection is so important. So sorry you are going through this.

Complicated Disaster February 05, 2021

❤️❤️❤️ Stay strong honey ❤️❤️❤️ xx

Kate February 05, 2021

Oh, Sweetie. I'm so sorry. That is just horrible, horrible news to get. But you know, and you know enough doctors to know, that is doesn't have to be. Caught early, you CAN be fine. Knowing your tenacity, you WILL be. I love you, Girl. You got this.

WizeArtWorx February 05, 2021

❤❤❤❤❤ sending you all the love

Soliloquy February 05, 2021

Oh my god. I'm so sorry. Thinking of you--you are strong and you're gonna kick ass. (No pun intended)

.bob February 05, 2021

Sending lots of love -- agree with the above. You are super strong inside and out and can beat this. We are all here for you. xoxo

echopod February 05, 2021

Thinking of you and sending good thoughts.

.allison. February 05, 2021

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKK.

Ginger Snap .allison. ⋅ February 05, 2021

Ditto.

pandora February 05, 2021

Oh my god!! That’s shocking and horrible news, I am so so sorry. Please keep us posted. Sending so much love.

Palmtreesandzebras February 05, 2021

Sending you tons of positive thoughts and vibes. You are a fighter! you got this.

Marg February 06, 2021

OMG haven’t you been through enough this year already?? So so sorry to hear this - well all be here to support you through whatever’s coming though. Big hugs

sparklespeterson February 06, 2021

I'm so sorry. Hugs and healing thoughts!

Bre M February 06, 2021

Sending prayers and love

IpsoFacto February 06, 2021

I don’t know how I missed this. It is Saturday morning and I just read this today. I’m sorry you have to deal with this, but I really do think there’s only one way you can do this… The 1 foot in front of the other and keep on keeping on. What will be will be. Your job right now just try to stay balanced and to take gentle care of yourself. Take it step-by-step and do not panic. I know this is easy to say, but you’ve known me long enough to know that I’ve been there myself in many different ways. I will keep you in my thoughts and hold you in my heart. I am sorry.

Nash February 06, 2021

Wow, just now catching up with this. It really isn't fair and I am so sorry.

Florentine February 06, 2021

Oh, goodness! Like Nash, I'm just catching up on PB this weekend. I'm sorry, Ginger! You have been through the ringer lately. This is such scary, frustrating news, and I'm sending you all the love I can. <3 You have a strong, beautiful body. I know you will persevere.

plushcreep February 08, 2021

Thinking of you and hoping they caught it early enough.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.