The "I" In Team in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • April 24, 2014, 4:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

70 or so entries down; 75 or so entries left to go. I had not realized I had fallen off the face of the earth in reading circa March. Here we are at the end of April and I'm trying to catch up on the entire month. Oh well. Hope it doesn't bother people if/when I comment on old entries. Trying to just read through them so I know what is going on... and feel bad that I wasn't aware of what was going on when it mattered... but some of you write so well and/or are so thoughtful that I can't help but comment.

Brief little glimpse into the goings on around here....

  • last day of law school ever (barring a single exam) will be over in less than 26 hours.
  • The bar exam is in roughly 88 days
  • I've finally given control over my legal organization to its new president... THAT was rough for reasons. There were two people running for president. Someone who had been on the executive board previously AND someone who had just started law school. I was freaked because for the first 30 votes, the no-experience candidate was winning. Luckily, in the nick of time, the experienced candidate won and I don't have to worry about it. It may sound cruel to be "worried" but.... this organization has a lot that goes on behind the scenes and for someone who has never experienced that; the shock can put you on your ass. I hope the kid tries for another executive position again next year; but the person in charge NEEDS to know what goes on and how to make sure it keeps going on.
  • My 30th birthday is roughly 8 days away. It is on free comic book day, too. I will be studying of course because my last final is on the sixth... so I'll have to cram my noggin full of knowledge; but... yay 30.
  • In a humorous, almost peculiar, twist... if my wife and I don't get intimate before the first Wednesday of May... so, 4 days after my 30th Birthday... it'll have been 30 months since we were intimate. I just like the symmetry there... 30 years on the planet; 30 months since my wife had sex with me.
  • I've sent off all the job applications I could find. 5 more this month for a grand total of 8 overall. Of those 8 applications, only one produced an interview. So, I'm a little mergh about the job market right now. I know I should either/both focus on the bar examination and keep applying to anything and everything but.... it can be tough. I'm sure many of you know that already but... this is the first time I haven't been THE MOST MARKETABLE person. I've never had trouble finding work when I wanted it; so this is a bizarre experience for me.
  • Lastly, at the job I do actually have.... ufda. I've probably explained it before but if I haven't: I work for the Department of Corrections in the Criminal Justice Center. My job is connected to "Programs" which include all manner of things (house arrest, day reporting, work release, etc.) My job is strictly PRE TRIAL RELEASE PROGRAM; though. That is what I was hired for, that is what I am paid for. I do a shit ton of paperwork, speak in open court, and call it a day. That's my job. They've recently added "RUN THE PRISON LIBRARY" to that job description, but I won't have hours there until the summer since I am a student. BUT... they just added something on Monday that is stupid and dumb. They decided that PreTrial should do more for the House Arrest side of the business. Which means I went from one boss who knows my job; to two bosses, one of whom has no idea what I do. And the execution for this new program has been a nightmare. It is a program called 24/7. The program requires, if accepted, an individual charged with a Felony DUI to come to the CJC two times a day (between 6am-8am, then again 6pm-8pm) and take a breathalyzer... for which they will be charged $2 every test. SO... shitty hours and $4 a day. Thing is... the judge AND the prosecutor both have to sign off that the defendant is eligible. No worries, I know my job- the judge and prosecutor are not likely to go for it; but I'll do what my job title demands. Except... oh yeah... since my "new boss" who is in charge of this program has no idea what I do... he's followed me to court, watched me like a hawk, and bitched up a storm that I didn't make the judge and prosecutor put the defendant(s) on the program. WHAT?! Those of us who have been in that courtroom every day for the last three years know what we are doing, know which judges can be swayed, which judges make up their minds before hearing the facts, know which judges even believe that the "PROGRAMS" department is worth a damned... I will inform the court who is eligible but I am not going to start an argument with the judge on record.... and anyone who thinks I should start yelling at a presiding judge over a poorly executed program, I feel confident in calling an idiot.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.