send me a man that cooks, I prayed in 2021

  • Jan. 30, 2021, 6:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

3:19pm

Here I am, sitting at work again. Unfortunately I’m stuck in my mask at the moment because we have a client. She’s a family friend so of course she gets special treatment and gets to stay in here longer to chit-chat. It’s not a big deal but my face is starting to feel weird from the condensation. A small price to pay [well that and I’m pretty sure it’s causing the extra breakouts on my face shrug] to stay safe. I’m willing to pay it; just slightly annoyed. As I’m sure so many people are.

Either way, I’m not sure what I’ll do the day they’re no longer required. Is anyone [that’s following the rules] truly going to feel comfortable just completely ditching it? That’s going to be a tough call for me. At least for a while.

Anyway, I’ve got a couple hours left of work. Not too much longer to go! It’s been a busy day, but seems to have finally tailored off. A welcome change. I have to work tomorrow. Probably the first of two or three Sundays. I really wanted to take another quick overnight getaway for Valentine’s Day with EC. It would be fun to make it a tradition. I’ll probably always be working so just a Saturday night and Sunday. Looks like this year we’re not going to make it though. Maybe a different weekend when things lighten up. I don’t know. We’ll see. I’m cool with planning a last minute night by the ocean if the opportunity arises.

Speaking of EC though, he is currently sitting at my house working on setting up dinner for us! This is the new thing. Last year he was able to hang out at his compa’s while we were working but he doesn’t have that option anymore. Now he’ll do his thing at home in the morning and then he swings by the office for the key and heads over to our house to prep stuff.

Today’s menu is tri-tip sandwiches with a Mexican street corn pasta salad, and maybe green salad. He’s in charge of bbq-ing the tri-tip and getting that all ready. I’m in charge of making the pasta salad when I get home though he cooked up the pasta for me already. I left everything sitting out on the counter for him to make the rub and cook the pasta. I’ll just do the sauce/tossing together when I get home. I’m not even sure how this salad will turn out. I found it on pinterest yesterday. It sounds good, and corn goes well with tri-tip, and you can’t really go wrong with mixing it with pasta, right? =)

On his way over earlier this afternoon he stopped at a bakery a town over to grab the bolillos for the sandwich. We tried them a couple weeks ago for tortas, on mom’s recommendation, and basically fell in love. haha.

It was such a surprise today when he showed up at the office with a bag in hand. I thought maybe he brought me a bread roll for a snack but nope. He brought us each a maple bar doughnut! My favorite! He said he brought sweets for his sweet. =] So kind that man. I love him for so much more than just the random doughnut delivery! Though that did get him bonus points!

I spoke to him on the phone about 40 minutes ago and he was lighting up the pit and getting ready to throw the meat on. It should be timed for right around the time we get home, which is perfect because that doughnut could only hold me over for so long. He will most likely have a beer and shot of tequila waiting for me as soon as I walk through the door as well so I’m definitely ready to get home.

Sounds like he hung out for a while inside then got bored and went to listen to music in the nice sunshine we’re having today. I’m glad he’s able to enjoy it. He deserves a break. And he was sweet enough to tell me multiple times that he missed me and can’t wait for me to get there. I appreciate hearing that, especially because it sounds like he spent some time having fence beers with his compa as well.

I think I’ll go shut things down now and get ready to head home. He just called to ask me a question and said if I text him when I leave he’ll have some beautifully prepared beers waiting for our arrival. Yum!

rose.
4:45pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.