No More F*cks in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 27, 2021, 6:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, look. I’ve been very, very, very careful and haven’t gotten the virus yet, so I think I’m going to keep doing what I’ve been doing and stop freaking out about what others are doing. Have I said this before? I can only take care of myself and keep my own distance and sanitize my own space and wear my own mask(s) correctly. Everyone else can figure it out for themselves.

Going forward, it’s all going to be about calculated risks. And by that I mean, not taking very many, but when I do I will do so strategically. Honestly, I’ve really been doing that, but I know that many, many, MANY people don’t - nor do they care about others.

I started following IG accounts that were shaming people for going to parties maskless and such, calling them out and trying to make them feel some kind of way. But again, what good does that do for me or really anyone? I decided to unfollow and just not look at that stuff anymore.

If you are one of those people who don’t give a flip about others and are traveling to Mexico and the Caribbean,flaunting your carefree ways (yes, my BFF did just this), then I will let some other source of judgement have a heyday with you on their own time and with their own energy. This is all too much to carry anymore. I’m done.

Here’s an example of my calculated risk for this weekend: I think I’m going to keep my hair appointment on Saturday morning. I’ve canceled the last three appointments that I made, thinking that things would be better. Alas, my hair can’t take it any longer. It’s looking very scraggly. The last appointment I canceled was on January 2nd because I figured my stylist would be out partying in a crowd of some sort on New Year’s Eve. I’m glad I canceled then, but I’ve been watching her IG and there’s not much going on with her social life right now, heh. So I think I’m safer than I would have been then.

And I’m going to look at an apartment building. I’ve been able to do this a bit since the summer, but I need to start hitting the viewings pretty hard since I have to give notice soon. I’m a little bit stuck on this one because my criteria keeps changing, but I clearly need to get a move on.

And I just talked with someone at work who has a second date with a new guy and she’s quite excited about it and I’m thrilled for her, but a little jealous I guess. And yet, I can’t be because I haven’t even been OUT there in months now (or at least many weeks). I haven’t even tried! So I may do like another PBer is doing and check out match.com to maybe start making plans for after the vaccine. Why not? And if someone wants to hang out and go for a dog walk with me or sit outside on a patio and chat, then let’s do it!

Regardless, I need some new things to do. I have been going home after work lately, making dinner, pouring a glass of wine and either clicking around social media or watching awful reality TV until it’s time to go to sleep. Then I get up in the morning, get to work, put out stupid fires and do it all over again. This is not living, people!

Although my CTA scan results show that I’m truly still living, so my head is in the right place but my butt is giving me real reason to question things. I can’t wait until the colonoscopy is over and the surgeon tells me that it was a simple issue and he took care of it while he was in there. Is it weird that I’m kind of looking forward to the prep because I’m sooooo curious as to what that’s like and I wonder if I’ll feel clean as a whistle when it’s all over? Yeah, that’s probably weird. But the worry that I’ve been experiencing has to be a thousand times worse.

I need this to be over with.

Tonight I need to do something productive. I’m going to go get the dog at daycare and take her on her walk, come home and eat a gigantic salad and then work on crafting a decent match.com profile to see what comes out of that.

How about that? Livin’? I’d say today is definitely better than yesterday. I feel lighter just by throwing away the fucks I’d been giving regarding people and their awful Covid hygiene.

Until next time,
GS


Derelict Heart January 27, 2021

Honey, the prep is the hardest part, the peglite shit? Omfg. Nasty as he'll. Chemical pineapple (or whatever) nononono! I wear my mask always when going out but lately I haven't gone diddlysquat. Thanks to fucking Doug Ford (our premier.) we have to stay until like the 12th? Nononono!

Ginger Snap Derelict Heart ⋅ January 27, 2021

Haha. You don’t understand how much I want whatever’s going on inside me fixed and over with. Ill clean it ALL out!!

Derelict Heart Ginger Snap ⋅ January 27, 2021

I do too. But holy shit, that prep drink? I was puking it up and crying like a baby.

Jinn Derelict Heart ⋅ January 28, 2021

You can get an easier prep . Just tell your GI person that you can not keep the liquid down, I start three days before the procedure to stay on clear liquids ; no meat . No dairy . You can take a laxative at bedtime to get things rolling . The next day ; the same thing. The next day is the day before the procedure ; you start in the morning drinking ( small bottle) Mag Citrate and they give you laxative pills . You will be clean . Stay on clear liquids ; I do chicken broth , lemon ice , 7 up, Ginger Ale , Sprite, orange jello ( avoid any red jello ). You stop drinking at midnight . Then you have the test .:-)

Derelict Heart Jinn ⋅ January 28, 2021

V. cool Jinn. :) I will do this, the next time I have a colonoscopy bc I am 46.

Parliament Derelict Heart ⋅ January 28, 2021

My prep was easy. All of it was over-the-counter stuff.

Jinn Parliament ⋅ January 28, 2021

It works for me :-)

Derelict Heart Jinn ⋅ February 06, 2021

Lucky lol

Deleted user January 27, 2021

I think you are right about how to handle covid things. There is something that really wears us down about worrying about things we can't control. I can't control others so I just need to ignore them and do my job as a being on earth and a being in the covid situation. It's more than likely going to turn out the same for me whether I worry about the world or not, you know? I try not to think of myself but sometimes it's a survival situation mentally and it's best to do it temporarily.

Is it appropriate to wish people a happy colonoscopy? If it is, then have a good one. Haha

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 27, 2021

haha! Thank you for the well-wishes! I'm going to need them :)

And I appreciate all of your other thoughts too. It really does wear us down, and I think it makes us sick.

Jinn January 28, 2021

I go grocery shopping and I have been to kohl’s . I mask and I do not linger. I Scrub when I get home.my kid has to go to his office half days and my ridiculous husband visits with the surgeon next door , so I can not be totally isolated anyway. My kid visits his GF , who is an NP . It’s impossible to avoid all contact :-(

Complicated Disaster January 28, 2021

It's 100% impossible to avoid all contact, you just have to minimise it as much as possible. I worry because CFO isn't as isolated as I am but I just take that risk. xx

Deleted user January 28, 2021

All I have to say about colonoscopy prep is to get a good book and the softest TP you can find.

WhatDreamsMayCome January 28, 2021

My 'prep' was basically a non-event. I'd heard others belly-aching but it passed without incident. ;-)

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ January 28, 2021

That's what I've heard from others. I swear I just want this over with because I'm freaking myself the eff OUT!!

plushcreep January 30, 2021

I'm excited to see how match.com pans out versus the Hinge and Bumble stuff. It feels old school, but in a very good way.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.