Lots in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 26, 2021, 4:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Much to update.

  • It’s Tuesday morning and I walked in the office around the same time Boss did (he was not here yesterday). I’m assuming he’s taken a real Covid test at this point, but I’m still going to avoid him as best I can. Not walking down to where his office is and if he needs me I’m sure he’ll email or text. I’m just annoyed at this point, but assuming that HR knows all about what’s going on with the fact that he was exposed last week.

  • This morning my engineer gets his Covid test. He says he’s feeling okay, but his wife is not feeling great. He’s not getting a rapid test. I don’t know what you call the non-rapid test, but that’s what he’s getting, so we won’t know until at least tomorrow and he has to quarantine until next week.

  • Yesterday I went to get my annual CTA brain scan to check the status of my aneurysm. It was a wild morning as I got to the vascular hospital early and sat in the admissions area for a while. Something made me want to chat with a guy who was all decked out in Vietnam Vet paraphernalia. We got to chatting and he revealed that he’d had a heart transplant 27 YEARS ago! I told him I was there to check on the lump in my brain and he told me that he’d gotten his heart from someone who’d died of a brain aneurysm. It felt like I was talking with another guardian angel. I swear, they are everywhere.

  • The scan procedure was the same as always - weird. It’s always such a strange sensation when they pump that dye into your veins. I always wonder if it’s like what junkies feel when they inject drugs because it’s this bizarre, instantaneous warm sensation that literally goes to every part of your body. And you can smell it and feel it especially in your loins. Yesterday some of the dye leaked out of the vein and into the surrounding tissue in my arm. This is not a good thing, so the big, male nurse with giant hands started aggressively massaging my arm where the injection site was and it hurt. He told me that what he was doing was “breaking it up” and that I’d much rather him do that now than deal with it later. He must have done a good job because I felt absolutely fine after he had me wait for 20 minutes with a warm compress on my arm. I’m thankful for nurses with big, strong hands.

  • The results came in “good’, according to my PCP. The aneurysm has not changed in a year and by medical standards, it is considered small and stable. It’s the next best thing to being gone, I suppose. And it makes me feel more comfortable to be off of my aspirin therapy for my colonoscopy next week.

  • I don’t feel like talking about my upcoming colonoscopy right now.

  • I had a super vivid dream last night featuring friends of mine from college AND an engaged couple that I hate-follow on Instagram. I hate-follow this couple because the guy used to flirt with me on IG I guess during a time in their relationship that they were having some problems. The girl is an influencer and has a massive following (well, they both do, actually, as they are both kind of local celebrities) and now they are out and about living their best lives together. You can tell that they are truly in love and I’m certainly not mad at that at all - it’s just that I think I have a little bit of jealousy even though there was never ever anything between me and the dude besides his flirtation, which was short lived. ANYWAY. I’ve unfollowed the guy, but I have actually found some great beauty and fashion tips from the girl so I still follow her, ha! But why did I dream about them??

  • Bernie Sanders memes have been keeping me so alive lately.

Better roll. Lots to get done at work today!

Love and more love,
GS


bobbi01 January 26, 2021

I'm loving the Bernie memes too. Yay for staying the same and for a nurse that was observant and caring.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 26, 2021

You are so right! This nurse was incredibly kind and observant. I truly appreciated him.

Deleted user January 26, 2021

Such a cool story about the waiting room vet! And I'm so glad to hear your results were good!

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 26, 2021

Right? He was really a cool guy.

And thank you!

Athena January 26, 2021

"Good" is great!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ January 26, 2021

Thank you! It really is.

Satine January 26, 2021

I’m glad it’s tracking “good.” 💗

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ January 26, 2021

Me too! Thank you for your kindness. xo

Complicated Disaster January 26, 2021

Whooooooooooooooooooo!! Great news re. your head!
Stay clear of the boss!!
xx

balancedmom January 27, 2021

Non-rapid test is pcr.
Everyone says that the prep is the worst part of the colonoscopy. You'll be in twilight, so you won't be aware. After, you'll have to fart before you can leave. Let er rip!
I had made my fiance some chicken noodle soup for afterward. Thinking, hey since you're all emptied out, let's fill you with healthy food. I was surprised to hear how many people run for the fast food after the procedure.

Jinn January 28, 2021

So happy all is stable :-)
I love the Bernie memes too !

Marg January 28, 2021

Very glad you had a good result from the scan!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.