My Review for Salvation Army in Wilmington in Brand New Me

Revised: 01/21/2021 12:39 p.m.

  • Jan. 20, 2021, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I like to do stuff. The work itself I don’t mind at all. There are different departments of the warehouse and I was able to experience work in some parts of it.

Sort clothes. Hang clothes. Load racks of clothing for the main store. Load racks of clothing into bins for some of the other locations. Other areas of the warehouse pack the other items that the stores sell.

Management/warehouse staff are usually disrespectful and unmotivating.

The workers are beneficiaries that go there mostly to improve themselves and their life but the staff in the warehouse usually are the reason people leave the program or have bad attitudes towards anything. They don’t really get paid for anything. There is a small gratuity for working and living there.

The current staff that I worked with fraud the company to stay in the position they are in. When they don’t like someone on a personal level they find ways to get the employee fired. The two people that have been there along with an employee that was hired around the time that I was hired didn’t feel comfortable with me after a while. They have personal issues going on and it didn’t bother me one bit until I got unfair treatment and given disgusting attitudes by them. They didn’t communicate with me at all. A lot of it involves jealousy in many ways. They have intimate/romantic relationships with each other and with the beneficiaries which are not allowed. To some extent it’s okay but from what I’ve seen my supervisor do… she should have already lost the job but for some reason, the guy that’s been there for about 4 years at this point has some kind of thing with her that he won’t write her up for it but I’m sure he’s very aware of the things she should not be going. I don’t mean just personal relationships but other situations that the company does not allow at all are overlooked.

Everyone else that has quit to move on to something better and the beneficiaries know how toxic those people are and it’s better to not get involved with these people in any kind of way. Unless you REALLY need the program. Just don’t look forward to any type of relationship with these people. Not even platonic.

(doing drug at work and being under the influence at work while claiming it’s the wrong thing to do)


Last updated January 21, 2021


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.