Nu obsession... in These titles mean nothing.

  • Jan. 21, 2021, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Nu obsession and it doesn’t involve yu.

Small joke for the day after the U.S. Presidential Inauguration.

On-line jig saw puzzles.

Has anyone but me ever been captured by them? They are either worse than solitaire or not as bad. Depending. I find the pictures enticing. Especially the ones of food.

Here’s a site. https://www.thejigsawpuzzles.com/

There are others.

Oh, and guess what? I went to the library last night to print out a fresh schedule F for Jim and discovered racks and racks of free books. So guess what? I’ve got new books.

  • The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte by the author of The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austin whose name happens to be Syrie James.

  • Parisians, an adventure history of Paris by Graham Robb.

  • Selected Stories by Nadine Gordimer.

  • O’Keefe & Stieglitz by Benita Eisler. Lots of pictures including some of the famous nudes.

  • Studs Terkel’s Talking to Myself

  • Peter Matthiessen’s Bone by Bone.

And a Harper’s Bazaar and an Atlantic Monthly.

As good as a trip to Pearl Street Books and even cheaper.

The woman at the library said they keep putting out books every week. There were lots of good ones I didn’t take last night too.

And more good book news! One of my lost books is on its way home. What It Takes by Richard Ben Cramer, which I had lent to ‘someone’, was found by ‘someone’ who is sending it back to me, via Jim’s friend who lives on the highway’s mail box. It’s not here yet, but at least it’s been seen.

The books is delicious profiles of the 1988 Presidential candidates, Dole, the first Bush, Dukakis, Hart, the guy without the eyebrows from Missouri, Gephardt, and, interestingly, Biden. I had taken the book to a Biden campaign appearance lo these many years ago and I had nervily asked him to autograph the table of contents page beside his name. 2008? in Elkader, IA. Jim had noticed the attractive blonde woman who was watching everything that happened, and was surprised when I told him she was the candidate’s wife.

Oh and guess what I love about the new administration? Harris’s voice and her laugh. Prettiest voice and laugh ever. Pay attention and see if you agree.

I watched a bit of the previous President’s leave taking and was somehow reminded a bit of the Romanovs.


Last updated January 23, 2021


Rivercity January 21, 2021

The Romanovs--now I'm thinking of all the Trump children--Oh, never mind.

gattaca January 21, 2021

I am looking forward to the Biden Administration's decivisive policies to combat COVID. Trump treated COVID as an irritant to his presidency.
I'm off to look at the jigsaw puzzle website. :-)

Beret January 21, 2021

When you run out of jigsaw puzzles on the above mentioned site try allstarpuzzles.com

I love Kamala's laugh.

NorthernSeeker January 21, 2021

You had quite the book score at the library yesterday. Doesn't that make you smile? I love it when the universe drops something on me for free...it feels like a victory. I guess in the Romanov analogy #45 was a combination of Czar and Rasputin.

I caught the first part of the inauguration but had little time to look at the tv until later. Have you heard the poet and do you like the poem?

noko January 21, 2021

I have read the O’Keefe & Stieglitz book and am curious about Bone by Bone. Very exciting to get your book back. Nice distraction, those jigsaw puzzles.

Serin January 21, 2021

Oh no, I still like puzzles! I was going go to bed a half hour ago!

Marg January 22, 2021

I got totally addicted to online jigsaw puzzles years ago staying up till 4 in the morning to complete them! Those were the days you had to pay a membership fee to get the puzzles - I had to remove myself eventually it was that bad :)

Jinn January 22, 2021

Our library used to sell books but they were $3.00 for paperbacks and $4.00 for hardbacks; more if they were originally a really expensive book . I thought that was pricey but I did buy some. I am in shock now though; I have not bought any books for over a year ! Unbelievable !

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ January 23, 2021

These are my first new books since before March. I feel pretty good about them. I read a few of Gordimer's short stories tonight and they are wonderful. Does your library have a Friends of the Library sale? About half of my books come from library sales - I shop around - Rochester, LaCrosse, one in the Twin Cities, Decorah, and other places. Those prices are ridiculous. I've paid a dollar but never more than that.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ January 23, 2021

Not a friends of the Library sale but they used to have a few shelves with donated or. Retired books for sale. I used to find most of my books at Good Will . Occasionally I buy book on sale at Barnes and Nobles :-) but I have not bought any for a year . That is a record for me . :-)

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ January 23, 2021

I will buy a new book if I really want it but it's rare. Most of what I like is old stuff. The Gordimer short stories had a quote on the cover - 'A magnificent collection worthy of all homage.' - Graham Greene.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ January 23, 2021

I had to stop buying ( or slow it down ) because I had accumulated so many . When I cleaned my den out I took seven boxes back to Good Will. My tastes had changed ; some no longer called to me . Many I read and they were ok , but not keepers and some were duplicates ( 🤦‍♀️ Have you ever done that ? Bought the same book twice ? ) I have ... I have eclectic bookshelves . :-)

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ January 24, 2021

Yes, about buying the same book twice. When I quit work my whole retirement aim was (and remains) to organize my books. I found about a dozen duplicates and THEN agonized whether to get rid of them, how to get rid of them, and then which copy to get rid of. My son advised me - did I just want to get rid of them or did I want someone else to enjoy them? If I just wanted to get rid of them I should keep the better copy for myself, but if I wanted to SHARE them I should give the better copy away. I took a box full to my used book store and got $8 credit. Interestingly enough they only wanted about half the books and asked if I wanted the ones they didn't want back. I told them to get rid of them. Later I wondered which ones they liked and which ones they didn't. I still wonder sometimes. When I go to the used book store I still see a big fat volume of Updike reviews and essays that I had bought twice and they had decided was worth trying to sell but hadn't.... yet.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.