A Toast in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 20, 2021, 11:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The last time I watched an inauguration live was for Barack Obama’s first term. I remember that day clearly as I was working for a giant corporation and they had a HUUUGGEE giant screen set up in the massive cafeteria/restaurant area and the place was buzzing with excitement.

Today, I work for a small company during a global pandemic and I have the live coverage playing on the TV app of my iphone. What a massive juxtaposition, but still I’m so excited nonetheless.

Don’t tell anybody (ha), but this morning before work I opened a nice bottle of champagne and toasted good riddance to the outgoing Motherfucker in Chief. I sure did! I screamed at the TV and flipped him off as he and Melania ascended the steps into Air Force One with the Village People’s YMCA blasting on the loudspeaker. YMCA???? WHYYYY? It looked like a really bad comedy movie.

I’m wearing my pearls today in honor of our new and fabulous Vice President, Kamala Harris and I just might cry when Joe Biden is sworn in.

Today, though the whole United States is in the deep throes of conflict, disease and an uncertain future, I can breathe a little easier knowing that the insane, demented, racist, misogynistic prick is no longer president.

Earnestly,
GS


Complicated Disaster January 20, 2021

Happy New Era! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 21, 2021

YES!

Deleted user January 20, 2021

Pretty much exactly the same!

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 21, 2021

Ah good. How was NYC last night?

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ January 21, 2021

super quiet. but everyone texting/posting that the horror is finally over. The FBI was on my block at 8am yesterday arresting a man who lives by me for the Capitol riots. According to the news report: "...a shotgun, six cases of shotgun shells, 12 boxes of 9mm ammunition, a black tactical vest with a loaded clip, eight more loaded clips, a second vest with ballistic plates and a knife, and two machetes. In all, Fisher possessed more than 1,000 rounds of ammunition, authorities say."

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 21, 2021

Good lord. They are mixed in everywhere, aren't they?

Nash January 20, 2021

Huge sense of relief but still a long way to go.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ January 21, 2021

Agree. So much agreement from me.

WhatDreamsMayCome January 20, 2021

Cheers!

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ January 21, 2021

Cheers!!!

Jinn January 21, 2021

Hit the road , Jack , and don’t come back !

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ January 21, 2021

I sure hope not!! Fingers crossed.

Kate January 26, 2021

I cried when Amanda Gorman recited.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.