Nothing's Ever Easy in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 19, 2021, 11:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Holy shit. I just had a Zoom meeting with Boss who told me that his son (who drove Boss to the airport last night so he could travel again to California) tested positive for Covid today and I was somewhat close to Boss yesterday. Definitely farther than 6 feet apart, but the fucker had a cough and he was sucking on a cough drop and I could smell it when we were talking…I was that close. If I had to guess I’d say 12 feet apart. We both had masks on. But. Fuck.

I don’t know if he’d had contact with his son over the weekend or if yesterday was the first contact they’d had since I saw him yesterday, but I’m willing to bet it’s not.

I asked him if he’d be quarantining in California and he said no - that if he tests negative on Thursday (his next Covid test), he’s going to get on a plane that evening and fly back to [my city]!! And if he tests positive he’s going to drive back. He does not want to be in California where the hospital situation is as dire as it is.

So this is the thing - he’s had direct contact with someone who has Covid and he’s not quarantining for ten days (!!!). What a fucker. WHAT A FUCKER.

And you know what he had the gall to say to me today?

”Don’t tell anyone.”

I mean. This is bullshit.

I personally am not going anywhere so I’m not going to expose anyone. Will not see my parents this weekend at this point if I start having symptoms of any kind. Boss better let me know on Thursday what his results are. He also better let the execs know he’s been exposed. If he comes into the building I will avoid him like the…plague (!!!!)

Other than that, I’m now working on scheduling every medical thing that I can and fighting with my new insurance company about everything. Well, not really fighting, but once again, as with all things medical, I have to do every fucking thing myself and advocate for myself because nobody is going to do it for me or make anything easy.

The colonoscopy thing isn’t a medical emergency, though YES I need to get it done in the next couple of weeks, but I also need to get the CTA scan of my head to check on the aneurysm. My thought process is, check the aneurysm before I get the colonoscopy because they want me to go off of my aspirin (blood thinning) therapy before I get the colonoscopy and I want to make sure I’m not in danger of having a stroke during the colonoscopy…see what I’m saying?

Docs are specialized and don’t think about other things going on in the body. Even my own primary care physician, who is a personal friend is so freaking busy he doesn’t have time to hand hold right now (not that he ever had time in the first place).

But the bottom line is, my new insurance hasn’t approved the CTA yet! The old insurance approved it on like the 28th of December and then the year rolled over before I could get it scheduled. And by that time it was a new year with a new coverage. And then I started having butt issues which threw me all out of whack and now I just need everything from my head to my booty checked! Waaaahhhhh!

Make it all stop! Or get it all going, actually. I need to get alllllll of this done!

Anyway. First thing’s first - DON’T get the Covid!

Gotta go. It’s time to walk the dog and get my damn steps in for this challenge…

Love and light (until tomorrow when the world might end),
GS


Deleted user January 19, 2021

Crap like that is why my entire organization has canceled all in-person meetings, put a moratorium on travel, and forbidden all staff to go to the office without special permission from the top. May I say, politely, that your boss is an asshat?

Deleted user January 19, 2021

can't you quickly get a rapid covid test at least so you know if you have gotten it from that exposure to boss? If there are no rapid testing spots by you, you can order free at-home test from Labcorp Pixel. Takes 2 days to get to you, you take it and overnight it to them and then get results 2 days later. So a total of 4 days.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 20, 2021

Too soon today as the results wouldn’t pick anything up. They say you have to wait at least three days from exposure...maybe even five?

And I don’t know the full story. And we don’t know if boss is positive yet.

If he’s positive on Thursday then I’ll get a test.

Gangleri January 19, 2021

That’s scary. And you hafta wait before you can even test.

pandora January 20, 2021

Don’t tell anyone???!!!!!!!!!!! Holy shit.

plushcreep January 20, 2021

"Don’t tell anyone" is bullshit. Oh, what a fit he'd have if he knew you'd shared this with us!

Deleted user January 20, 2021

Ugh, sorry you have to deal with that anxiety. He should definitely have stayed home.

If it were me I might try to get a test on the third day or so after this happened if I could get the deep nasal swab test. But it doesn't sound like you were near him for very long and you were a pretty good distance away.

Hope it all works out and he learns a little common sense :)

Marg January 20, 2021

From what you’ve said about your boss that’s no surprise to me at all! I hope you’ve escaped it though.

Jinn January 20, 2021

Your boss is a jerk. He should get turned in.

Athena Jinn ⋅ January 20, 2021 (edited January 20, 2021)

Edited

Yes, he should. I wouldn’t go to the office if he’s there until 2 weeks passed, even if he stays away from you. Also both Mary and her husband had rapid tests and the real test same day. Both rapid tests negative, both real tests positive. She got sick. He never had one symptom. Her son got quite sick. I have zero confidence in the rapid test and personally wouldn’t base any decision on it. My neighbor and his wife got Covid after their son had two negative rapid tests — and then tested positive. It’s a mess. I’m surprised you haven’t gotten already from work.

Jinn Athena ⋅ January 20, 2021

:-( The rapid test sounds worthless . 🤢

Complicated Disaster January 20, 2021

Your boss really is a bag of dicks. Fingers crossed! Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.