Same Sh*t Different Year in Trichotomy

  • Jan. 18, 2021, 10:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The new strains

Pretty much all my medical professional friends got their vaccines (including some here), which was great; but the administration of the next phase is so muddled. We heard stories about people trying and failing to get an appointment. Hopefully by the time it gets to our turn things will be more well-organised. But I harbour no such hope.

Because of the new strain, which presumably is everywhere now, we are getting even more cautious. We have people coming to replace our A/C next month, so now we are making plans to minimize our interaction with them. Good thing we have masks on hand, but it’s still unsettling to have strangers spend hours in your house.

We are planning to open the windows and ventilate the house for a few hours when they leave; I just hope it’ll be warm enough then.

  • N

The virtual recitals

Since I had nothing going on during the winter holiday, I got to spend the time working on the “dating app” for my amateur musician group. So I made more progress than expected, and it is ready for testing. There’s no point releasing it now though, because people can’t get together anyway.

The interest in the virtual recital program has been steadily dropping off in recent months - I suppose people are getting used to not playing/performing - so it was a surprise to find that we had enough submissions to create another one this month. I just released it yesterday and I am interested to see how it’s received.

But I haven’t touched the piano since the holidays - all my music related stuff has been happening on the computer.

  • S

The squads

My team has now been downsized to just 3 people, because our mandate has been rescinded and there is less urgency. At least my pet project is still getting funded - it helps people automatically migrate their storage system to a new one; I hope to get it shipped this quarter, but after that, I’m not sure if the work remaining is still all that interesting to me.

I should start looking at other projects. I’ve been on this infrastructure team for 2 ½ years now, so jumping ship at this point will not be unusual.

  • D


Last updated January 18, 2021


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.