Finding Still Points in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 18, 2021, 9:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This looks like a whole other world doesn’t it? But it is only about 8 blocks from where I live. Near the street where the house with the bubble lights in the kitchen window is. Walking with my crew before Christmas, Mrs. Sherlock was feeling adventurous and so we turned off the hill we were on and wended our way down.

They were talking to each other and people we encountered so while I was taking it all in, I was a bit distracted. I went back once before on my own because there was a particular historic house I wanted to shoot but there was so much glare.

Saturday Mrs. Sherlock was too tired to walk early and Charity had a volunteer commitment and I thought I’ll go over there the other way on my own. The uphill way. I wanted to get pictures of a whole slew of daffodil bulbs I know are planted along the fence line of what might become “my” community garden if I hit the plot lottery jackpot. The shoots are all up and we are just beginning to see the shadow of blooms forming.

I had a lovely three mile plus trek with plenty of elevation and good light. The mountains were gorgeous and the views over there are amazing. I know I am blessed to live so close to a lovely interesting and engaging place to walk.

It isn’t all luck, a lot of being where I am has to do with choices. Many many small choices along the way.

The week before last, walking to the grocery with Charity, I had quite the therapeutic conversation about my relationship with envy. Not envy towards others or for others but envy directed at me. It has always seemed crazy to me.

Why would anyone envy me for anything?

Go ahead and laugh. Because we are human, and we are wired that way. Same with greed. For a whole complex of reasons, I sit truly low on both the envy and greed scales. But really, aren’t Pinterest and Instagram envy factories?

Charity, who seems to me, to be a self-esteem boosting angel that came into my life unexpectedly, (a lot like Mr. Finch) convinced me that maybe at times people envy me because I am kind of cool.

She managed this is a funny gentle way that was like leading a steppe pony to water. :) What amazed her, and made her happy, was that once there, I drank. I actually changed my perspective.

The spiritual practices I do that are an outgrowth of both yoga and Buddhism (and critical thinking skills from all the deeply radical folks I have known in my life including my oldest sister) made this possible I believe.

With all the difficulty this last 12 months has wrought I find myself in the middle of it on occasion deeply grounded and happy.

As I was, out and about taking the above photograph.

When I got home Mrs. Sherlock texted me and said she was feeling okay and would I like to walk after all?

What the heck, it was dry, the light was getting even better, why not? I took her around the same loop (skipping the community garden) only backwards. I showed her the place pictured above. That bridge there with the flowerpots is built over a ravine. That second time a most handsome long haired white cat came out from behind the fence and said hello.

Frieda was with us. She is not particularly interested in cats, but we all kept a respectable distance.

The vaccine rollout here is a disaster. Who knows when I will get mine and my friends and loved ones? It is still winter. The new variant is coming to town. And there is the political strife that is alarming as we transition this week to a much-needed new government.

As the light changes and the plants reach for it, in the depth of all this, there are these momentary still points and flashes of joy.

I am grateful to be alive and embodied and aware enough to notice them.


Last updated January 18, 2021


mcbee January 18, 2021

Another beautiful property. I enjoy vicariously enjoying your walks with you.

Deleted user January 18, 2021

What a beautiful house!

Yes, envy is a strange thing. Not my particular cardinal sin (that would be wrath or pride), so I don't fully understand it. Someone is always going to be better-looking, healthier, wealthier, more successful, etc. If there is one thing I have learned, it is that true happiness comes from being content with what you have and not worrying about what others have that you don't.

Jinn January 18, 2021

I do not like the feeling of envy one bit . I envy then I immediately feel ashamed. I agree I think it’s human nature to envy . Not a good part of our nature though.

Marg January 26, 2021

Gorgeous house - maybe not so practical for deliveries though! It’s interesting the folk who step into our lives at what seems to be just the right time for us. Does make you wonder. I love your last sentence :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.