The Goth Tag in Every day scata

  • Jan. 1, 2021, 9:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1/1/21
7:16 pm

That’s one of our Cult members above. Awesome guy :)

Anyhoo, I tried a few times to do a video, and yea. no. Can’t do it. So I’ll write out the answers.

1. How long have you been goth?
Quick answer, I would say since 1984? That’s when I went… “totally” goth. I started out punk/post-punk really young after seeing The Ramones. Then I went New Romantic when Duran Duran first came out. Then as … .. certain aspects of myself came up, the “darker” my music and fashion tastes got.

2. How were you introduced to goth?
This is a hard question because I’m old lol Seriously, though. I’ve always been into music. Always. When I got my own stereo and could listen to anything I wanted, I found WFNX radio out of Boston, and WMWM, the Salem State radio station. I discovered Souxie, The Cure, Depeche Mode, Sisters of Mercy, etc blah blah blah and felt all “ME!!! THIS IS ME!” listening to it all.

I didn’t have a clue what they looked like (until I chanced on a Souxie vid), but the music was brooding. So I started dressing that way. lol I was literally the epitome of the public’s definition of goth. lol the reason “goth’s have a bad name”. lol

3. What gothic subgenre would you put yourself in?
I honestly cannot answer this question lol

I have never fit into a box, a label. My styles change as fast as my moods, and that’s pretty fast. So one day I could be “trad goth” (because, I am) the next, pastel (because I am lol) That being said, some, like me, find that their goth is more than skin deep. For me, it’s more of a mindset. I like the dark, macabre, and the unusual. Actually, it was the way I was brought up. Honest. No lie. Ask me about my weird family if you don’t know about them already lol

So when I say “I’m goth”, I mean I’m goth. :) All of them. At once. 24 hours a day lol (just take a peek in my mind some day lol You’ll understand)

4. What do you believe to be the basis of goth?
I could get all preachy about the history of the goth culture, how it centers around music yada yada, but That’s my basis for being goth. I grew up as the goth culture evolved out of the punk scene, out of the music (and really, punk, post-punk, and goth music came out way earlier than the mid to late 70s), so when this question comes up, I usually start with the history of the music.

But! Just like all the different types of goth that are out there, I feel that the “basis” for goth differs just as much.

Which brings me to my next answer.

5. What do you dislike about being goth?
Gatekeepers. Elitists. Every subculture, has them. lol unfortunately I belong to three of the worst groups for them. Pagan/Wicca, Duranie, and goth. Wicca being the absolute worse. And you have no idea how horrible some Duranies are! Seriously! I don’t understand people.

I guess that’s the hippie in me. Live and let live. Let people be happy being themselves. If they call themselves goth, or a Duranie, or Pagan, let them, even if it isn’t “textbook” to you.

6. What do your parents think of it?
My parents were really cool for their generation. They didn’t mind me expressing myself with my clothes and makeup. lol I do remember my dad looking at me when I walked in the door after one particular haircut (don’t remember which one lol) and closing his eyes, shaking his head slowly, while rubbing his forehead. My mom said “It’s just hair.” lol

I think that if my parents were still around today, they would both appreciate the newer “goth” aesthetics that have come about. And I know they would have fallen in love with Jake and Kaya for real.

7. Eyebrows, yes or no?
I absolutely love the no eyebrow look, whether people are wearing makeup, or not. I am always soooo tempted to shave mine off, but I’m scared lol

8. What is your favourite band?
Totally not goth. Duran Duran. Always will be :)

9. What is your opinion on Marilyn Manson?
I don’t really have too much of an opinion, really. I like some of their music, some of their looks. I remember when they first came out and the absolute shock people had at their appearance and thought that was pretty awesome.

10. What were your babybat days like?
I think I’m going to save this last one for an entry by itself. I have a feeling I’m going to get a bit chatty.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.