A Tin, A Fire and Of Course, Toffee in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 1, 2021, 3:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This house was located in the center of downtown Portland near my church and empty for a long time. A group of concerned citizens raised money painstakingly for years to move it and in the last 9 months or so, it has been restored at a new location in my neighborhood just south of downtown.

I love the detail on the column, which is why I took this picture last week. Well, that and the blue sky. I think the plan is to rent it out for events. A bit of bad timing on that. People (unmasked I might add), have been working on the restoration.

Here we are on the first day of the new year. We made it! Mostly intact.

The Tarot card I pulled for 2021 is the Seven of Wands (or Rods in my deck). I was relieved it wasn’t a major. It feels appropriate, effort and courage are needed but we will get through this thing. Yes, we will see it through.

It makes sense to me that the resources I will need in the next 10 months or so are strength and resilience and oh yeah…patience.

There was a bit of excitement on Tuesday here when the Christmas tree in the apartment next to Charity’s caught fire. Everyone got out and all the animals are okay, but it was, ummm, stressful. When the young woman, whose tree it was realized the smoke was too intense and she couldn’t get it out, she stood in the hall and banged on doors and screamed Fire. Charity had to leave her cat.

She showed me yesterday where the firemen split the frame of her door with an axe. They did that with all the apartments on that floor. She says she is having dreams about the sound, the fear and danger in her neighbor’s voice. The apartment is a write off. All their stuff is either smoke or water damaged. They are thrilled that they will be able to move into an apartment in my building.

No one is exactly sure why the tree caught fire, but the supposition is there was an LED light a bit too close. The fire team, and there were a lot of them here were happy, (it took them 6 minutes to arrive, a benefit of living in a city close to a fire station), that they got it out before it reached or breached the roof. I was thrilled when I heard there were no medical emergencies.

I went over there yesterday to deliver a small tin of Chocolate-Glazed Pecan Toffee Bars that I made in the morning. Kes had made some before Christmas and much to my astonishment I loved them. My toffee tolerance has always been on the low side.

They are like little pecan pie squares mixed with a little brownie and they are super easy to make. The recipe was originally from The Joy of Cooking and is on their app but was updated by Saveur magazine. What is not to like, butter, sugar, lots of toasted pecans and a few chocolate chips?

When I was walking with my crew after Christmas, I mentioned them and Charity was all, okay, that is next on your list! Kes made them again on Wednesday and we spent a fair amount of time on Zoom yesterday comparing notes. The square 8X8 pan makes a big difference. Charity believes they may be evil, but in a good way. :)

Of course, here we are in the new year letting go of temptations and the comfort of holiday sweets. Right?

Good.

But then we are all stuck at home mostly until the vaccine gets out to us. I ordered a metal 9X13 baking pan from Williams Sonoma and this new book called One Tin Baking by the guy that first won The Great British Bakeoff. Kes loves “Dutch Babies” and there is a good-looking simple recipe in there for one with fruit I am planning to make for her when I see her here again.

I did test doing “boy” pushups again earlier and I didn’t lose all my strength during the plague year. But still there is work to do.

Thank you so much for sharing this last year with me. You may think oh why am I doing this crazy Prosebox thing??? But I am here to assure you, that your writing, and insights and humor have enriched my isolated life enormously.

You are much appreciated!


Last updated January 01, 2021


woman in the moon January 01, 2021

I'm glad you're here too.

Deleted user January 01, 2021

When I saw your headline I wondered if you were Finnish. :-) https://viada.com/en/news-en/item/new-year-celebration-in-finland Happy New Year!

noko Deleted user ⋅ January 01, 2021

Oh, interesting! Considering that I woke up to find the stimulus money in my bank account maybe mine had a rough surface. :)

mcbee January 01, 2021

I always look forward to your entries and I particularly always love the amount of pictures you post. Happy New Year!

Ragdolls January 02, 2021

Thank you for writing here and sharing your life & thoughts. I always enjoy reading about everything and your photos are stunningly thought provoking for me.

Happy New Year!!!

IpsoFacto January 02, 2021

I just want you to know that I really value our friendship in pixels. I think it’s going close on I don’t know maybe 15 years or more. I often think of you And Andrew/Mr. Finch. I aspire to be as good to John as you were To Mr. Finch, you have the serenity to which I aspire. Thank you for being my friend.

Jinn January 08, 2021

And you sharing your life with us is much appreciated too :-) Happy, Happy New Year !

Marg January 08, 2021

Goodness the poor woman must have got such a fright - I’m glad everyone got out ok. Was Charity’s cat alright? You are very much appreciated too - the friendships I have on here mean an awful lot to me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.