The 2020 Recap in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 31, 2020, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Damn. It was a year, wasn’t it?

  • January - The year started off shiny and new and I was full of enthusiasm for a WHOLE NEW DECADE! Was dating a really interesting (and hot) man and excited about the opportunities in general.

  • February - Was horrendously sick at the very beginning of the month with something I called “the Unofficial Killer Flu” which knocked me for a loop for a couple of weeks (testing later revealed that it was NOT Covid, though I still have some doubts now after re-reading my entries…I was sick and foggy-brained for weeks).

  • March - After the illness, I was feeling severe winter blues, but was able to take a couple of days after the trade show in Florida to hang in Miami and that was really cool (right before the shutdown). And then…Covid Lockdown. Tiger King happened. Let the hot dude go. Started trading off weeks with my brother helping our parents with groceries and making sure they were OK.

  • April - Was a part of a “Temporary Lay-Off” at work. That’s the way they put it. It felt shitty and I was very, very scared about the world and what was happening and now my own situation.

  • May - Knocked down some more (literally!) by being mugged and assaulted by some dude while walking my dog - on the same day that I was called to be informed that I was getting my job back! Talk about a doozy of a rollercoaster!

  • June - George Floyd riots began in my own neighborhood. I was scared because the city imposed a 7pm curfew where we were not allowed to leave our houses. I went to my parents house for a few days because I was still in shock from the assault and now this. Never told my parents about the attack, and somehow hid my black eye from them, but man, this was a rough month.

  • July - Was back at work and feeling meh. Had some socially distant dates that made me feel distant and blah. Working from home and going into the office very occasionally. But everything was bland in July.

  • August - August was just as bad as July in the blues department, but I also had to have a tooth extracted! UGH. Started work back in the office full-time in the middle of the month. Saw friends from time to time at a distance, but nothing really felt right. Oh, and my mom came around from her Trumpy ways! She saw the light, so that was good.

  • September - At this point I was annoyed and angry about people who’d forgotten that we were/are in the middle of a global pandemic. RGB died. Annoyed at work. Blew an important interview due to technical issues. Horrified by the presidential debate. Canceled a road trip.

  • October - Tried to take a social media break but wasn’t very successful (even though I watched The Social Dilemma). The fly landed on Pence’s head! Met a cute guy and actually kissed him a few times (risky behavior!). I took a week off work and went to a nearby city that was far enough away to feel like a mini-vacation. Turned 53 alone because my date fell through by being wishy-washy.

  • November - The Election. I had one glorious day celebrating Biden’s win with some neighbors, and that was a really good day - not many in 2020. Scouted a potential new neighborhood for when I move in April. Thanksgiving kicked off the holidays and a major surge in Covid.

  • December - Took a week off work but don’t know what I did. The month that seemingly everyone I know got Covid. Just exasperated. Went to a party where I was a pariah because I wouldn’t hug and kiss maskless like everyone else. Vaccine news made me feel better, but still frustrated. Vaccine couldn’t come soon enough. I was sick of watching people partying on social media, yet I couldn’t look away. Realized I have a lot to work on in 2021.

So there you have it. My 2020 recap. What have I learned? I am easily frustrated. I have felt defeated this year. I don’t want to feel like this anymore. I let others get to me waaaay more than I should. I need to focus on the things that I can control and let the other stuff go.

Let it go.
Let it go.

Let 2020 go.
Tear it up and burn it.
Then sage the shit out of this place.

Byeeeee,
GS


Deleted user December 31, 2020

I literally just did all my laundry, cleaned my house and myself and saged the shit ouf of my apartment.

Bre M January 01, 2021

Happy New Year! 2021 will be a great year!

Firebabe January 01, 2021

It may have been a shitshow, but you're still here and kicking, so whatever happened, you outlasted it! Booyah!

Jinn January 06, 2021

Terrible Year ! I am glad to see it in my rear view mirror !

LoveSuicide February 18, 2021

Blast "Jenny Says" by Cowboy Mouth and let it go let it go let it go! That's a hell of a year for anyone. Glad your mom came around on Trump. You and the dog okay after the mugging? Yikes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.