Doorman in Feline Misadventures

  • Dec. 31, 2020, 2:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve never given my cats as much latitude for the unrestricted outdoors before now. Mostly a product of having mostly semi-ferals, and a dash being the last house on a dead end road.

Since I’ve never experienced it before, I have no idea if this is normal cat behavior or something just the colony does.

When a cat is out, and they want back in, they signal one of two ways. Either they sit in front of the window with a camera or the jump in between the screen door and the house door (they hit the handle to do it so I hear it). If, when I open said window or door, the cat does not come in, it’s because they’re waiting on the entire group to come in, even if I don’t see them right away. I don’t know if one decides they’re coming in so they all do, or if they designate a doorcat each time, but without fail: if a cat signals they want to come in but won’t, there’s at least one other cat they’re waiting on to also come in. The socialized cats do it. The semi ferals do it. Doesn’t seem to matter if are biologically a part of the colony or not- even Griffin does it. It was a frustrating learning curve on my part, to be standing annoyed with a cat that won’t come in, but once I figured out the pattern, it’s actually pretty sweet. Once the doorcat deigns to come in, I know that’s all that’s coming this round. Despite really nit liking the babies, OC did it tonight. Came to the window, and as soon as I opened it, he stepped back. Then popped in Tad, Penny, and Lloyd. Once Lloyd was in, along came OC.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.