Merry Quarantine Christmas in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 26, 2020, 2:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning from an extra day at my parents place. I didn’t really intend on spending another night here, but I imbibed in a couple of extra glasses of wine during my video chat with a faraway friend in the afternoon and it made me sleeeepy in the early evening. So a nap on the couch with the dogs and by that time it was dinnertime and I figured what the hell? I’ll spend one more night.

I’m going to go home later this morning because I’m trying to possibly get together for a dog walk date with a Hinge guy. I had to request the time and I haven’t heard back from him yet, but regardless I want to get home by noon because nearly three days with the fam is absolutely enough.

Christmas was as expected. My niece was absurdly spoiled and got so many gifts she had no idea where to start. My dad and brother got together to get her one of those drivable cars (hers was a Frozen Jeep…purple with the characters from Frozen painted on it). I guess that’s what all the cool kids get now.

She’s cute, but I have issues with her parents - they let her do things like what I saw this morning: she didn’t want to eat her eggs, so they let her eat a chocolate truffle. She already has issues with her baby teeth being rotten and has caps on many of them. She gets whiny when she doesn’t get what she wants and I know her mom is from a completely different culture, but wow. I worry about when she gets a little older and could possibly turn into a horrible human.

But that’s really not my business. The kid is smart as can be. She may likely turn out to be a brilliant person despite what I think of her parents’ skills. Also, what do I know about parenting??

Anyway, I’m home now and have actually had a quick nap and a change of clothes for my dog walking date. I’m going to leave in just a few minutes. The weather is phenomenal, but I feel a little blah and I don’t feel cute. I suppose a dog walk will do me good and I’m going to get there early to get some fresh air before we meet.

More to follow about Christmas. I guess I didn’t really get to detail. It’s been fine…for 2020, I guess, but I’d say not much different than many other years since my fam is so small and I’m not dating anyone.

Alright. Let’s go get some air…

Merry Day After Christmas,
GS


plushcreep December 26, 2020

They're setting their kid up for food failure. My ex was like that with Rusty, catering to his every whim, and he turned into the world's pickiest eater...not to mention an entitled brat. When Audrey was born, I put my foot down and said she'll eat what we eat. Guess who likes all kinds of foods now and is kind, generous, and caring?

Soliloquy December 26, 2020

Ugh it’s so hard to watch your siblings raising their kids in ineffective ways. I love my brother but he’s not a great dad and his ex-wife is a terrible mother. Her food issues have transferred to my niece and it really sucks because I see it happening and there’s only so much I can do as an aunt.

Complicated Disaster December 26, 2020

Ooops! I was up till 1am in the end playing cheesy music and chatting on FB! xx

pandora December 27, 2020

Merry Christmas!

bobbi01 December 27, 2020

Those jeeps are so cool. How the walking date went well.

Jinn December 29, 2020

Sadly , only kids usually end up spoiled . Hopefully your niece will grow out of it . Glad your Christmas was good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.