LONG AGO EXCITING in Postcards 4

  • Dec. 23, 2020, 11:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We always opened presents on Christmas Eve at our house. Once mother was done serving the scrambled eggs, she rushed upstairs to wrap the gifts. Grandma’s boxes were always wrapped in white tissue paper and tied with real grosgrain ribbon which I remember as blue. Gimpa handed out cash, and Gunny had another martini.

I always got a really good book with wonderful illustrations every year. That was the most exciting happening of the evening. When the Garretson House burned, not only were all the good pieces of inherited furniture in it, so were all these wonderful childhood books. I have kept an eye out over the years for copies of these editions, and I have replaced about four of them.

Christmas morning, the moment mother would let me out of the house, I would run across the lawn, through the hedge, and across to the Clarks house. What did Buddy and Mike get? More cars for their Lionel trains? Was the track already up? Now, this was really exciting stuff.

I hope you all have a quietly exciting holiday at home.


…………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Himself: Has to get gravy. Games too.
Myself: Write here. Catch up on my reading here.
Reading: Obama.
Watching: 60 minutes and a special on King Arthur.
Photo: Top: The tree on the Camel Chests with many Bobbie presents. Bottom: Target wrapping paper.
Gratitude’s: Good to know that Target, Walmart, and Costco are the main Covid 19 super spreader locations here in San Diego.


woman in the moon December 23, 2020

I am trying to decide whether to 'try' to shop before the HOLIDAY or now. It will be here pretty soon whether I do anything or not.

woman in the moon December 23, 2020

I like the idea of white tissue paper tied with real grosgrain ribbon.
YOu have such classy antecedents.

Narrator December 23, 2020

Shiny metallic wrapping paper always seems like such a luxury. :) We opened on Christmas Eve, too! I like the idea of breakfast for dinner, though.

Marg December 24, 2020

I’m amazed your mother waited until Christmas Day before wrapping the presents! :)

NorthernSeeker December 25, 2020

Another beautiful and serene Christmas photo. I have stayed away from those big stores.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.