I wrote a poem - I am not proud in These titles mean nothing.

  • Dec. 15, 2020, 2:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do what you want to
Do what is itchy and calm
Do what I want to.

Make this what we know
Make this alphabetical
Make this everything.

Remember always
Remember the now of love
Remember what was

Tell me you love me.
Tie me tight with a silk silver rope
Take me far away.

Visualize the snow
Visualize the Christmas cards
Visualize black cows.


Beret December 15, 2020

Well, why not be proud? It's thought provoking.

A Pedestrian Wandering December 15, 2020

We are called to release the words (photos, art, creations) into the world, and so we do. They are not always meant for us, we may never know who they are meant for.

woman in the moon A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ December 15, 2020

Thank you. This is very true.... and I liked hearing it.

aglow A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ December 18, 2020

^ I can't think of a more wonderful way to put it.

woman in the moon aglow ⋅ December 18, 2020

I know. That is one of the greatest comments ever. Greatest explanations of why we are here, why and how we know each other.

Purple Dawn December 15, 2020

I drove through the cattle herd today, there are three little calves, I suspect a bull escaped a bit early last year.
I liked the poem.
What is the tall narrow building for? Is it a corn crib?
Take care,

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ December 15, 2020

Yes, it's a corn crib. My dad built it from lumber from my old schoolhouse. His mother went there too.

NorthernSeeker December 16, 2020

I see Gracie's corn shed! This is a gorgeous photo with the light, the composition, and the barn in the centre of it all.

aglow December 18, 2020

This stanza is my favorite:
Remember always
Remember the now of love
Remember what was

Rivercity December 18, 2020

Schön!

woman in the moon Rivercity ⋅ December 19, 2020

We have neighbors named Schon. They are interesting people who take really good care of their stuff. It's another of our multi generational farm family/neighbors and we know each other to the extent that novels could be written. No doubt mutually.

There. You said much more in one word than I did in a bunch.

Serin December 20, 2020

I don't know that I have a response to the poem, it makes me thoughtful, but I'm not sure if the thoughts have words.

What is the narrow building in the picture?

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ December 20, 2020

This feels like groundhog day = = it's a corn crib. Narrow and spaces between the slats to let air dry the ears of corn inside. Build on two long concrete foundations with single boards across then that could be removed so the corn would come out on a conveyor to bring the corn out at one end. My dad and a neighbor kid built it using salvaged lumber from my one room school house that was closed and sold in the mid 1960s. The roof had a similar opening the length of the building so the corn could be elevated in. I should take some more pictures and show how it worked.

Jinn December 21, 2020

The poem made me feel wistful. Good Poetry evokes emotion and this was good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.