Updates on Various - Dec. 2020-style in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 11, 2020, 5:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Rona: Best Bud definitely has Covid. Her test came back positive. She tells me that Covid is horrible and it attacks the weakest issues that your body has - she had herniated discs several years ago and that the Covid is making her back hurt really badly. Her son also has it and she said that they had to contact his school and it was a total nightmare. I know her son is suuuuper meticulous about school and I’m sure he’s mortified about the whole thing. She’s waiting for her husband’s test results as well as her brother and SIL’s results (they are a VERY close family). Her brother is a pilot and recently started working with UPS delivering cargo - UPS will be delivering half of the vaccine (!!) - and he can’t really afford to get the Rona right now…but whatareyougonnado?

The Office: I am still going into the office daily and being super, super careful. I won’t let people get close to me and I’m wiping my shit down constantly and washing hands, etc. Also, there’s a “private” bathroom that I can access so I don’t have to go potty in the stalls with others and get their flushes filled with covid-spray. Masks up at all times. I can’t believe that I’m still seeing maskless holiday parties on social media. Like, EVERYWHERE! At this point, I just have to assume that all of those maskless people have already gotten the virus so they are not being careful anymore, but what do I know? It’s a crazy world out there.

Family: Covid rates are shocking right now. My brother’s school shut down and has gone back to virtual. He’s back with his family at my parents’ place for the time being and that makes me happy. He’s also still wearing a mask inside and when he’s close to my parents and that makes me feel good about how careful he is being. I’m considering wearing a mask indoors at Christmas, but I haven’t decided yet.

Body: I told you that my weight has crept up, right? Ughhh. I had to get some new jeans, mainly because my current jeans have worn out since I’m wearing so much more denim during Coronatimes. But I found some cute jeans online and ordered them because they looked nice on the model and they were on major sale. When they came in, I noticed that the tags said they were “mom jeans”, which is cool with the young kids right now, but OMG I looked just like the moms in the SNL Mom Jeans skit:

Fuck. Haha. I did buy another pair that’s not like this, but…whee! The waistline falls ABOVE my belly button - you’d think that would tuck my tummy in? Nope. It accentuates and creates a pooch. The only thing I like about them is that they have a cute wash and I can cover up my midsection with longer tops and dusters that I’m loving. Depending on the garment, I can make this ish look cute.

Looooove: And lastly, I have zero romance on my mind. I don’t even want to look at the dating apps because I just don’t feel like meeting anyone right now. The weather has been decent enough to meet people outside lately (with heaters and such), but it’s about to get shitty and I’m not risking being inside. It’s going to be a long, long winter.

That’s all I got right now.
Happy Friday to you,
GS


Ferret Mom December 11, 2020

Sorry about your friend and her son getting COVID. Glad your brother is being so safe.

Ginger Snap Ferret Mom ⋅ December 14, 2020

Yeah - her husband has it now and I think the rest of her fam!

Florentine December 11, 2020

I love the high-waisted jeans. I have mom pooch, sure, but I'm petite with a short torso, so the waist of the mom jeans actually hits my waist which is the smallest part of my midsection. Dem hips and pooch are on display, sure, but I think most women have a at least a roundness in that area. I am trying to consciously choose to be okay with it. 😂

Palmtreesandzebras December 11, 2020

I feel the same way about high waisted jeans! I have them. But I to use longer tops to disguise it. I have been rocking the 90s thing with the t-shirts.. on skinny feeling days.

Complicated Disaster December 11, 2020

Gah. I can't believe you are still having to go to the office every day! I know you'll be super careful though. Rates are starting to go up again here again after they fell during lockdown. People just can't help themselves! xx

Athena December 12, 2020

If all those maskless party goers haven’t gotten Covid, they will soon.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ December 12, 2020

I hate to say it, but I hope they all do. At the particular party where Best But got it, the hosts announced that everyone was going to Cabo for the hostess’ birthday over New Years - on their dime! So then Best Bud was kind of flaunting that around. How can they all go to Cabo if they all have Covid?! How is Mexico not RAGING with Covid right now? Seems everyone and their brother has been “escaping” to Mexico lately!!

Athena Ginger Snap ⋅ December 12, 2020 (edited December 12, 2020)

Edited

That's obnoxious. Are you sure they're even able to do that? "The United States, Mexico and Canada have agreed to extend restrictions on non-essential travel between the countries through at least Jan. 21, 2021."

https://www.king5.com/article/news/health/coronavirus/us-mexico-and-canada-travel-restrictions/507-9ce9a29c-388b-41c6-b6cb-50e2c625a8c6

Maybe they will use their privilege to figure out how to go to Cabo and expose everyone in their path. If so, fuck them. Really: FUCK THEM for being such entitled douche bags.

At this point, I do not feel ONE BIT of sympathy for people who get it at a place like a restaurant or party, and in fact it makes me think much less of them. If someone gets it at work, I will feel horrible and pissed at their employer, but if someone gets it at a Christmas party, well, good luck to them and also FUCK THEM. That's how I feel. And I am not sorry about it.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ December 12, 2020

I don’t know how it’s being done but I’ve literally seen DOZENS of people I follow going to Mexico My neighbor Kyla went, a woman I work with went, Susan Friedman went...I’ll ask her how she did it...I don’t think there are serious restrictions at all.

Athena Ginger Snap ⋅ December 12, 2020

Regardless of how they did it, they did it. And I find it selfish and stupid and arrogant. That’s just my opinion.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ December 12, 2020

Same.

Jinn December 12, 2020

I live in Jeggings. I am so short it’s hard to find jeans that are not too long. :-( Sadly I think jeggings are going out of style . I am having trouble finding them .

pandora December 13, 2020

Did Best Bud say she regretted going to the party or being so cavalier about COVID? I just always wonder how people feel about taking those risks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.