Color of the Year in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 9, 2020, 5:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I said I didn’t want to write more about Covid because of Covid Fatigue, but what can I do? Life revolves around it right now.

Best Bud got sick yesterday. She went to get the test today. Turns out, she was at a party over the weekend with some good friends - who happen to be Trumpsters (which should be neither here nor there, but…). I saw some posts on FB. These people are suuuuuper wealthy and throw incredibly extravagant parties, and this one was clearly a big Christmas shindig with all of the decorations and food and booze and the fancy clothes and all of that.

I sent a text to BB this morning asking how she was doing and she told me that Alice, a woman she’d been talking with all evening had let her know that she was sick and had tested positive for the Rona. Ughhh. Pretty sure BB’s test will show she has it - even though she says she still has her senses of taste and smell - she had a nasty fever yesterday.

And then there’s NORT, the Woo. Remember he tested positive too. It was right before Thanksgiving. He just sent me a text telling me that he’s still interested in “romancing” me (oh lord), but that he’s still not feeling well (he says his doc says he’s released from quarantine because he never developed a fever - what? Have you heard of this? What ever happened to making sure you have a negative test?!)

I tell you what - I don’t want ANYONE coming near me to romance me or not! Until we’ve had the vaccine, it’s not looking like anyone should be near anyone else.

WHY are people still having parties??!! I mean, what on earth? Why are people still trying to woo?! In fact, NORT is actually trying to woo right now! No, NORT, NO!! Stop the WOO!

And yes, I am working back at the office, but it’s been pretty easy to stay away from most people. I have turned into quite the germaphobe, constantly washing my hands, spraying sanitizer and using wipes or paper towels to handle anything. I keep my mask on most of the day except when I’m sitting at my desk and nobody is close by…I dangle it off one ear so I can breathe for a bit.

It’s been suuuuper busy at work and I’m swamped and just annoyed at pretty much everything. The engineer who is working with me was supposed to take the place of Easy E (who retired last year, bless her, what a smart move that turned out to be), but he is so awful with a lot of the things that she used to do. Luckily, he’s good with heavy lifting (literally), but he’s horrible at doing anything proactively or intuitively. Like, he has to be told EVERY LITTLE LAST TIDBIT of information. He can’t run with a task and do it on it’s own. He has to be told how to do it and every step has to be approved by me. I can’t work like this. Also, there were 4 people working on this same shit last year (and it wasn’t me - I was working on all of TLIC and none of this other stuff), and now it’s just me and the engineer. Same level of stuff. I’m winging it and not feeling great about it.

I was supposed to have an interview phone call with an HR manager at a large furniture company today. The job is for a designer/product developer and I know I’d have a good shot - but she fucking ghosted me! I’m super annoyed. We’d gone back and forth with times and time zones and made sure we were both clear on when the call was going to be. Alas, she never called. Even after I emailed to tell her I was waiting… Rude. The only way I’ll let her off the hook is if she was having technical issues, which I hope she was because then we can relate! Ha.

But truly, I think she may have simply ghosted.

Must continue with the aggressive search because it’s going to take a lot more than a few phone calls, technical issues or not, to land another gig during these times.

I feel like there are other things to discuss, but I can’t remember right now. Brain fog is real, isn’t it? Though I will say that I think changing my meds has been a good thing and I don’t feel soooooo draggy like I had been feeling for a few months. My resting heart rate is already back up into the mid-50s (it had dipped down into the low-40s for a while).

So there - lots of medical talk in this entry, hm? Would love to get back to talking about sexytimes and lots of dick action, but I suppose that will have to wait a little while longer. I’m looking at this time as my time out to get back into my good, healthy habits.

Ah, 2020. You can’t go fast enough. And yet, I can’t get all the shit I need to get done. What a dilemma you’ve been, TwentyTwenty.

OH! Did you see Pantone’s color(s) of the year for 2021?? Thoughts?

I have many, but I gotta go for now…

Oh - I do have one final thought: This is truly Pantone’s Color of the Year for 2020!

GS


Deleted user December 09, 2020

I decorated Yale's apt with those 2 colors last year! How fortuitous!

Gangleri December 09, 2020

Parties or traveling. I have had several people post stuff on The Book about flying places and I don’t understand how they’re doing it. Why I can kinda get, but it just seems so selfish.

Complicated Disaster December 10, 2020

Anyone who goes to a party right now can just fuck right off out of my life. As for wooing, I'd think it would be OK to be wooed by someone with the same careful instincts as you - and that would be a good sign of things to come anyways. I'm liking the word woo!
Hopefully the ghosting isn't intentional! Maybe she is sick?? xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ December 10, 2020

But the woo-er was not careful and got the covid! I'm annoyed by him.

And yes, maybe the HR chick is sick. I'm following up with her today.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ December 10, 2020

I get that - but there'll be other woo-ers who will be more careful!
Good luck with the HR!
xx

Jinn December 10, 2020

People who have parties now are dangerous and uncaring . People who go to them are stupid. What is it going to take to convince them?

Jinn December 10, 2020

Classic s—-! So appropriate for 2020.

Florentine December 10, 2020

I feel like there is starting to be all this backlash against people who speak up and remind everyone that there’s STILL A PANDEMIC HAPPENING. Like, we’re getting shamed because we’re shaming and it’s so baffling.

My brother, who is an RN in a children’s hospital tested positive last week. He has a toddler at home and a pregnant wife who is also an RN at a different hospital. He and my nephew are quarantined, and the contact tracers said my SIL should, too, but her hospital said absolutely not. They are so understaffed that she has to report to all shifts. She takes a rapid test every day but this is where we’re at in the country. Health care workers are suffering because people want to go to dinner parties. Makes me so angry.

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ December 10, 2020

Oh no! I am so sorry about your brother and his family! Yes, we are in a super sad state of affairs, and it kills me because we could have solved this whole shit show had everyone just calmed down and toughed it out for a few weeks.

It's sad that people are shaming others for trying to SAVE others during a pandemic. I blame all of this "freedom" bullshit on our selfish, selfish president and the selfish people who follow him.

WhatDreamsMayCome December 10, 2020

New coworkers... Some are so hard to train.

pandora December 10, 2020

I'm more into Sherwin Williams Colour of the Year - Urbane Bronze.

I cannot believe people are attending parties like it's nothing! Ugh.

Here's to Dick Action 2021 (for you, not me). :: clink ::

Marg December 11, 2020

We’re never going to get free of this as long as there are selfish party goers around :(

drawnwell December 11, 2020

One of my jeweler friends has been selling out of her beaded mask lanyards. Similar to those for grandma glasses.
Might be a fun project for you

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.