New meds in Juggling with Hedgehogs

  • April 16, 2014, 4:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw my doc this morning and he's put me on some new tablets - Venlalic XL 37.5mg, which he says will help me to feel calmer. They do have similar side-effects to the citalopram, so I've warned my family that there may be other suicidal episodes and if I start to have them I WILL inform them immediately.

I've been calmer today, have been out with my camera, (with my husband, which I know must seem weird, it was certainly weird to me, but we do still get on, and we both enjoy photography) and shot some great images today - the best one being of a footballer hoverfly. I fell shortly after that and ended up rolling around in mud in a ditch, which wasn't fun. I was more worried about breaking my camera, but I managed to save it from damage other than a few spots of mud. I was caked in it from waist to ankle, but it washes off.

I have to see the doc again in the morning and again next week, and he's signed me off work for a month. I must say, that's made things a lot easier, I'm less hassled about that side of things at least.

I still don't know what I'm going to do, but the doc said to leave any major decision making until I'm feeling stronger generally. If I can just get through each day without wanting to top myself, that will at least be one bonus. Baby steps.


Daisy Mae April 16, 2014

I am glad to read that you went back to your GP and have changed your meds. He sounds very understanding and I completely agree that it's not the right time to make any decisions right now.

You are daily in my thoughts.

Deleted user April 19, 2014

I take Lexapro and I love it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.