74 goals in These titles mean nothing.

  • Nov. 21, 2020, 5:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Resubscribe to New Yorker.
  2. Read New Yorker in the bathtub.
  3. Read the poems in the New Yorker.
  4. Write a letter to someone once in a while.
  5. Never buy another book.
  6. Organize my books.
  7. Get rid of some of my books.
  8. Win sudokus.
  9. Strew Joana.
  10. Walk away from everything.
  11. Walk away from something.
  12. Remember the good things.
  13. Decide what to do with my wedding ring cum mother’s engagement diamond.
  14. Straighten up the artificial flowers that used to be on the refrigerator but now are stuck through the hole in the metal umbrellaless umbrella table on the deck.
  15. Evaluate sentimental attachments.
  16. Learn my mother’s version of Hail Holy Queen.
  17. Throw out my piano.
  18. Figure out money.
  19. Figure out taxes.
  20. Figure out inheritance.
  21. Take my newspapers to the recycling place.
  22. Keep up on my laundry.
  23. Keep up on my dish washing.
  24. Clean the bottom of my refrigerator.
  25. Teach the whole population when to use the word ‘seen’.
  26. As opposed to ‘saw’.
  27. Move to France.
  28. Get the lost silverware back from behind and beside the range.
  29. Dust.
  30. Knock down cobwebs.
  31. Find my little square paperback Bible.
  32. Get back my loaned copy of Richard Ben Cramer’s What It Takes that has Biden’s autograph.
  33. Count the folding money in my wallet.
  34. Cut my toenails from time to time.
  35. Keep my coneflowers alive.
  36. Worship at the altar of the walnuts.
  37. Hold onto the farm.
  38. Hold onto the other farm.
  39. Die at peace.
  40. Remember those who need to be remembered.
  41. Get the mail.
  42. Buy stamps.
  43. Banish regret.
  44. Banish revenge.
  45. Banish guilt.
  46. Get food from Lid’s tonight.
  47. Experience Yellow River Forest.
  48. Appreciate the grandchildren.
  49. Keep Gracie happy.
  50. Hold onto the past.
  51. Appreciate the present.
  52. See the future.
  53. Worship the earth’s rotation’s evidence, AM & PM.
  54. Avoid Covid.
  55. Wave at people.
  56. Smile at people.
  57. Appreciate people.
  58. Appreciate.
  59. Sleep a lot.
  60. Make myself happy.
  61. Write from time to time.
  62. Organize the truly millions of words.
  63. Be a good person.
  64. Hold this moment.
  65. Forgive the cat.
  66. Forgive everyone.
  67. Swat flies.
  68. Tie my shoes.
  69. Put wood in the stove.
  70. Listen to WPR.
  71. Eat tuna sandwiches.
  72. Throw away the right stuff.
  73. Keep the right stuff.
  74. Know the difference.

thesunnyabyss November 21, 2020

that's a lot!

enjoy France!

Rivercity November 21, 2020

That's a great list. I like how long it is.

woman in the moon Rivercity ⋅ November 21, 2020

One item for every year. I got the idea from a younger diarist.

ConnieK November 21, 2020

<h1>13: turn it into a necklace. (My mother used her wedding ring as the pull at the end of a string that turned the overhead light off & on after the divorce)</h1> <h1>60: YES YES YES</h1>

Good luck with the last three. My theory is that when I throw stuff out, my belongings somehow multiply.

Purple Dawn November 21, 2020

What did the cat do?
I enjoyed your list.

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ November 21, 2020 (edited November 21, 2020)

Edited

Cats do a lot. Vomit on library books. Knock stuff over. Lick food so you don't want to eat it. Scratch sometimes. Shed. Want in and out, repeatedly How many items do you want in the list?

Purple Dawn woman in the moon ⋅ November 22, 2020

I thought it might be something unusual. Jackie's cat came back after about a 2-month hiatus. She's about 13 years old. There were tears :)

noko November 22, 2020

From the sublime to the...lovely and rich.

Beret November 22, 2020

Nice list! I don't want to buy hardcopy books. We have too many as is and very few are read a 2nd time. They just take up space.

Have you thought of giving the ring to Katie?

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ November 22, 2020

Yes, I think that is what will happen. When is a good time/age to do that? Just 'leave' it to her when I die? Or sooner? She is 16 and I am 74.

Jinn November 22, 2020

I love the list ! I need to make one :-)

NorthernSeeker November 22, 2020

My Dad was always saying "I seen it"...to drive us crazy I think. Who has the book with Biden's signature in it? Gracie thinks #49 should be #1.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 22, 2020

I don't know who has the book. I asked the person I thought had it and they said they didn't. Then they gave me a book about Malcolm X so maybe they were trying to replace What It Takes. My brother has William Manchester's Arms of Krupp, another of my favorites I'd like back. I should visit his widow and ask about it. Like the friend of my mothers who came and got the cut glass creamer and sugar bowl her mother gave my mother.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ November 22, 2020

I don't believe your mother's friend...what a lack of class. Once something is given it is given. If something is loaned that is a different thing. I know that sometimes people "forget" the things they have are on loan.

Serin November 22, 2020

Where in france?

And why throw out a piano?

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ November 22, 2020

All over in France. I want to stay a long time in every place - I know that is impossible but it's a goal.

The piano would be hard to throw out - but it's not in good shape and it takes up a lot of space. And it might be a symbol of failure. But I'll keep it. It has history.

Marg November 24, 2020

I like this!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.