An offhand remark in 2020

  • Nov. 20, 2020, 7:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Anna mentioned, as our conversation finished, that I didn’t know how to be loved. It wasn’t an accusation, it was half joke, and half matter of fact.
I think she’s right.


Dazed-N-Confused November 20, 2020

If you don't know how to be loved, it's because you've never been loved. That is no fault of yours.( I used to think things like, why isn't he mad about that, why isn't he looking on my phone, doesn't he want to know who I'm talking to, well if he doesn't than he must not care enough, he doesn't love me if he's not snooping and wondering what I'm doing all the time.) But now that some time has past and we've many a conversation about relationships and goals , healthy, toxic, I've come to realize that he doesn't snoop because he trusts me. He trusts that I'm not doing anything that would jeopardize our relationship. I've also never given him any reason not to trust me. In past relationships regardless I was being accused of this or that. It was what I was accustomed to. So when real things started happening and we were able to work things through like adults and not argue, (because at that point you're both just telling over each other and nobody is listening anymore) when you're quick to forgive each other, you notice the other struggling (because you care enough to notice) and you pick up the slack, when someone finally understands the term "treat people the way you want to be treated", especially in a mutually agreeable relationship, wherever "love" is involved. When they start happening you don't even know it because it's not what love has been presented as to you. Until now. When someone asks you, why do you love me, and you rattle off all these reasons, opposed to an automatic "I don't know, I just do" with a big huge smile. Love can be terrifying. If it doesn't scare the hell out of you, than its not real. You'll get it. Took me almost all my life so far to finally get to experience true unconditional love. Good luck on your journey.

Amaryllis November 20, 2020

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.