NJM 2020, Entry 19 - Until I Ran Out of Words in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 19, 2020, 10:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow. I spent the whole morning on a Zoom call, waiting on my turn to present my upcoming strategy to our CEO and after two and a half hours, we ran out of time and I didn’t get to present. And they’re not going to have another meeting for the categories we didn’t have time for. Story of my life these past few months.

Rest of the workday was spent chasing my tail.

I’m home. I skipped a rooftop party that the apartment management put on tonight. Yes, it is outdoors on the roof, but they are serving drinks and hors d’oeuvres and frankly, I hate the management here, so I stayed in tonight. I have a little bit of FOMO, but I suppose that this is not the year to feel that way.

Got a text during my lunchtime walk. It was one of my college girlfriends texting to inform us that she has Covid. Ughhh. The second one of my sweet college buddies to get it. I feel so sad for her because she sent her whole family away…as in, out of state (!!!) while she recovers over the Thanksgiving holiday. We are now talking about having a Zoom Friendsgiving together. I think that will be good for her - as long as she’s up for talking, you know? She might not want to do anything.

Last night I spent a good portion of my evening poring over old journal entries from the 90s! Yes, I found a journal of mine from when I was in my mid-20s and ugghhh, I have such mixed feelings about the things I wrote. I was so naive and yet I was out living my absolute BEST life! I was traveling through Europe and literally meeting a new man every night and going and doing and seeing and LIVING!

I’d like to be that ballsy again. As in, go where the wind blows me and take on the challenges that fascinate me and leave all of that other bullshit behind.

That young woman had the world by the tail - though she was still holding on to bad dudes and tripping over her own feet. There was somehow a whole lot of foreshadowing in my diary.

It was fun yet cring-y to read. Maybe I’ll put some excerpts here sometime. Let me find some juicy bits…

Maybe later.

I’m tired. I think the iron supplements might be working, but I’m still quite tired when I crawl into bed. I can tell you that I’ve gotten really good sleep all week. How exciting! Yes, that’s sarcasm.

I’m out of words,
GS

P.S. OH! Don’t let me forget to write about the magazine article I read today about walking through downtown and seeing things from a different perspective…I know that’s more words after I said I was out of them, but I could write a whole entry on it, so I will.


The Thirsty Oriental November 19, 2020

I'm very interested to read some vintage GS!

Complicated Disaster November 20, 2020

Sounds like your CEO had time management issues! Xx

Marg November 20, 2020

Those old journal entries must make for some bittersweet reading in the present situation.

Jinn November 20, 2020

Sorry about your presentation. That has to be frustrating.

pandora November 22, 2020

I would love to cringe-read my old OD someday.

plushcreep November 22, 2020

I remember a certain Scotsman and a New Year's meetup in NYC not that long ago. Things might not have worked out in that case, but hey, that is still grabbing life by the balls!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.