30 Day Music Challenge: Day 9 in Surveys, Glorious Surveys

  • April 16, 2014, 1:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

30 Day Music Challenge

Day 9: A song that makes you emotional or sad

There are so many versions of this song, all slightly different, that I struggled to choose one. So why choose? There's a bit of irony in that this was another song I knew right away as soon as I saw the prompt however many weeks ago. And yet, these last few days, I've felt more and more in tune with the song.

Dougie MacLean first wrote the song in 1977, in ten minutes on a beach in France, longing for his home in Scotland. He says he played it for his friends when he got back to the hostel, "and that was the final straw – we all went home the next day."

Well, I have moved, and I've kept on moving. I've proved the points that I needed proving, lost the friends that I needed losing, and I found others on the way.

I first heard the song from Paolo Nutini, one of my favorite artists. Also, this video has some beautiful pictures of Scotland.

I don't know if you can see the changes that have come over me. These last few days, I've been afraid that I might drift away. So I've been telling old stories, singing old songs that make me think about where I came from, and that's the reason why I seem so far away today.


Nocturnal State April 16, 2014

RomanTurtle April 17, 2014

I'd never heard this song before.

Ometeotl RomanTurtle ⋅ April 18, 2014

I'm glad to share it with someone who didn't know it before!

RomanTurtle Ometeotl ⋅ April 23, 2014

Fun Scotland photos in that second video too! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.