Busy bee in Scottish Meanderings

  • April 15, 2014, 5:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Been a bit out of the loop this past while and am way behind on here as a result.

I lost my wireless connection on my desktop pc about a week and a half ago and after a frustrating evening realised my iPad was connecting okay so it was probably the USB wireless adaptor. Replaced it and the new one didn’t work either. Realised at that point that Device Manager wasn’t recognising any devices in USB ports and that something else was wrong so another frustrating evening produced the possibility that it might be the processor which was at fault and it was basically struggling to cope.

Know how it feels.

My regular very reliable won’t-bullshit-me computer guy was so busy he couldn’t give me an appointment until the 30th April and given that I’d already twice almost cried in tears of sheer frustration, I didn’t think it wise to wait until then so asked if he knew anyone else. He did, I phoned them this morning and my tower is now in hospital where I hope a diagnosis that doesn’t cost me an arm and a leg will be made.

But that’s all resulted in everything taking 3 times as long as it normally does and as I sat in the library last Friday, having booked 2 sessions on the Internet so that I could do a couple of hours’ work there, I realised that that was the FIFTH device I’d used in a week where I had to get used to yet another set of operating instructions and ways of doing the same thing. No wonder I’m a tad stressed!

Graduation Day was brilliant - here I am getting my ‘scroll’ - chuffified!

{Photo removed}

And here we all are officially done!

{Photo removed}

Yay!

{Photo removed}

After college finished I was looking forward to getting some time to myself but have had to wait 2 weeks for it as the Aberdeen in Recovery group (AiR) has decided their next major goal will be starting a Recovery Cafe - basically somewhere safe for folk in recovery to go to - a cafe with crèche, workshops, training, employment support, social activities etc etc. Addicts very often have to change every aspect of their life when they get into recovery - where they hang out, who they hang out with, what they do and sometimes they’re stuck at the age/stage they were at when the addiction started because nothing in their life has progressed or developed since then.

To that end we decided to organise a social event to promote recovery in general and to let people know about the cafe and ask them what they would like to see in it. I got myself involved in the group who’s organising that so have been trying to find a venue for us to hold it in. Think we almost have that in the bag now though so can get on with the rest of it - we’ve settled on a quiz night and a buffet and music to hopefully cater for all ages.

So that’s kept me busy.

Lily is doing great - had a slight scare recently while up in Inverness for Mother’s Day.

After we left to go home at tea time the three of us were in Tesco and each had a hand on either side of her. We were doing that ‘1-2-3 swing’ thing where you swing them up in between you and on one swing she forced herself down just as we swung her up resulting in one dislocated elbow!

Not that we knew that of course. We just heard the cry of pain and then realised she couldn’t use her left arm and was deliberately letting it dangle down by her left side as she tried not to lift it. We’d no idea if she’d sprained her wrist or shoulder or broken something or what - only that she was in pain and we’d caused it!

Nikki sat in the back of the car with her on the way back and she managed to doze fitfully every now and then then when we got into Aberdeen we just went straight up to A&E where she was eventually seen at 2 a.m. by a doctor who performed that piece of magic where they slot the joint back into place and everything is well again in seconds.

Poor Mum and babe - both exhausted just before Dr. Magic appeared. Ladybug never moved from that spot beside her head - she was obviously necessary for comfort purposes even though she couldn’t be cuddled ......

{Photo removed}

We’d a nice day before all the drama though. Mam was in good form though gets very tired easily these days not surprisingly.

{Photo removed}

And now I must get myself off to bed - we have an Easter Eggstravangza at work tomorrow - 3 sessions of play with an Easter theme which I’d almost forgotten about and just realised I need to get up an hour earlier for!

Joy.


Last updated July 22, 2017


blackpropaganda April 16, 2014

Ah yes, Aberdeen A & E - I remember it well, and they looked after me fine. Glad you are coping with the ups and downs

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ April 16, 2014

Oh yes of course although hopefully you weren't in the children's bit!! 😄

jamez April 16, 2014

Lovely photograph of Lily and Great Grandma.

You didn’t hit the city after graduation, what ever congratulations at your susses.

skyelord April 17, 2014

Well done :-) Got my finals to do in May did part 1 last week wasn't too bad :-)

Fishermanswife April 29, 2014

You're doing great! Compliments!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.