It’s OVER in Musings

  • Nov. 9, 2020, 2:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thank all of the gods and goddesses the election is over and Biden won.

I still don’t understand how this many people voted for Trump. How my own family voted for Trump. Trumpism is something that I will struggle to explain to my kids and their kids (if they have them) for the rest of my life.

I’m still struggling to know how to talk to my family. I’ve attempted conversations with those I thought most likely to understand where I’m coming from. But to no avail.

I’m curious how you guys handle it when it comes from your own family. Friends I can see letting go but family I’m struggling with. Especially since we all live so close.

It isn’t just politics and religion at this point. It’s them continuing to invalidate the experiences of POC. Their love the sinner hate the sin approach with the LGBTQ+ community . Then there’s abortion which is just a whole can of worms unto itself.

It’s been building for a while but of course 2020 has really brought this all to the surface. I’m heartbroken. Particularly about my brother. It sucks feeling like we don’t even have the same value system anymore.

I’m feeling really relieved about the Biden win though and hoping time will help heal things but we will see. I got pretty emotional telling my daughters we are going to have a woman as the Vice President.

It’s far from over. Still a lot to be fought for. But relief and joy still comes in waves along with the sadness and grief now.


anticlimatic November 09, 2020

If you can't understand where reasonable people on the left are coming from, or where reasonable people on the right are coming from, you're missing something and need to do some soul searching. Look into it. Politics isn't worth losing a friend over, much less family.

faded memories anticlimatic ⋅ November 09, 2020

I get where reasonable people are coming from. I used to be republican. I understand where people stand on certain policies. But Trump hasn’t been reasonable. His followers haven’t been either. Like I said it’s not just politics anymore when they say the kind of hateful things they do about marginalized people.

anticlimatic faded memories ⋅ November 09, 2020

I still think you're missing something. 70 million people voted for Trump, the second most votes for any president in history. They can't all be unreasonable racists.

Telstar November 10, 2020

I never could understand why so many people voted for Obama, Bush, & Clinton.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.