Distraction Survey in Etc

  • Nov. 4, 2020, 12:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Are you a cat person or a dog person?

I’m a Mochi person.

How many pets do you have? What are their names?

Just Mochi for now, though I’m putting together an aquarium with frogs and shrimp in the coming weeks.

What pets, if any, did you have growing up?

Four huge dogs: Max, Cinnamon, Dallas and Misty. Also a series of guinea pigs (Glynis, Mara) and a terrifyingly angry rabbit named Nepenthe.

What’s your favorite holiday?

It used to be halloween, but with 2020 in mind I’m looking most forward to New Year’s Day.

Which season do you like the best? Why?

Autumn, by far. Something I missed terribly while I was living in Los Angeles. Now that I’ve moved, I’m really excited to have actual seasons in my life again.

What’s the last TV show you binge watched?

The Boys, though I was simultaneously revisiting The Wire and I can never watch just one.

Do you subscribe to any YouTube channels? If so, which ones?

I’m obsessed with Tom Scott, and the pandemic has gotten me very into travel vloggers like Bald and Bankrupt.

What song do you always sing along to when it comes on?

All.. of them.

What are some of your hobbies?

I have a lot of fun collecting and restoring vintage electronics, and I dabble in VR and algorithmically generated art. But honestly? I miss karaoke the most. There, I said it.

Did you take up any new hobbies during the quarantine?

Doomscrolling.

Do you play video games? If so, what are some of your favorites?

I do! Lately it’s been a split between Half Life Alyx and Stardew Valley. Polar opposites.

Do you have any favorite stand-up comedians?

I adore Marc Maron and Patton Oswalt. I also have a fascination with the old school LA Comedy Store scene.

What’s the most important thing in your life at the moment?

Trying to maintain self-care while [gestures wildly around me] is going on

What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy day?

Read in bed with the windows open

What’s the best memory you have before age 16?

When I was 15, a family friend and her partner took me to a U2 concert in Chicago (many hours away from where I lived). They waited in line for hours so we could get into the inner seating area and watch the show from up close. I wasn’t a U2 fan at the time, but it was my first concert and had a huge impact.

What’s the best memory you have in your 20s?

Visiting Japan with my best friend.

What was your usual morning routine before the pandemic? Has that changed?

I used to put on pants that weren’t pajamas and commute for 45 minutes through crazy LA traffic. Now.. I walk into the living room and start yelling at the screen.

Who was the first person you fell in love with? Do you still talk to that person?

We met online when I was 16 and when that kind of thing was weird. We were both making suuuper angsty art websites and connected through that. Ended up going to prom in her state, half a country away. We split in college. We’re still good friends, which I’m very grateful for.

Who was the last person that made you smile and what did they do?

Mochi. He does this thing in the mornings where he starts violently mooshing his face into me until he flips himself over so I can rub the belly.

Have you read any books this year?

So many, but I retained almost none of them. Been deep down the Cormoran Strike rabbithole – the audiobooks are delightful.

What are some things you want to do before the year ends?

Finish this survey. Everything else is up in the air

What do you hope is invented within your lifetime?

Something to roll back climate change WITHOUT somehow dooming the planet to a weird sci-fi future.

Would you prefer flying cars or jetpacks?

Flying cars, absolutely


Last updated November 04, 2020


gattaca November 04, 2020

You restore vintage electronics? You're suddenly much more interesting to me :-)
I'm a vacuum tube audio devotee/fanatic.
And hello to Mochi!

josh gattaca ⋅ November 10, 2020

I do! I have a few Sansui amps and receivers from the late 70s/early 80s I'm really proud of, all solid state though. I like to pop them open and replace all of the old and tired capacitors so they'll last. I do have a Schiit Audio headphone amplifier that uses a tube. It's really fun to try out different tubes to see how that affect the sound. What amps do you have?

I had a McIntosh tube amp growing up ($5 at a yard sale!!) that I got rid of in my 20s when some of the switches went out, and I've always ALWAYS regretted it. Unfortunately getting ahold of another one is thousands and thousands. Ah, well.

Mystery November 04, 2020

What state do you live in now?

josh Mystery ⋅ November 04, 2020

Mochi and I moved cross-country to TX a few months ago

Mystery josh ⋅ November 04, 2020

Cool. We're going to be moving next year and that's one of the states we're considering.

josh Mystery ⋅ November 10, 2020

Oh nice! I really like it here. I ended up in Austin, and I'm really liking it. It feels like a more laid back LA or Portland in attitude, but it's very much its own thing.

Where all are you considering?

Firebabe November 04, 2020

Hey man, L.A. has seasons! Wildfire, Mudslide and Santa Ana Winds (a.k.a. the Devil Winds.)

I've got the Cormoran Strike series on my "to read" list on Goodreads. I had no idea they were written by J.K. Rowling. Mind. Blown.

My dog does this thing where he stares at me without blinking for about 30 seconds, and then farts. It's the weirdest thing ever and unendingly hilarious.

josh Firebabe ⋅ November 10, 2020

Hahahaha more like Wind, Gloom, Endless summer, two weeks of infinite rain, and OH GOD WHY IS EVERYTHING ON FIRE

The Strike series is SUCH a fun ride. Highly, highly recommend the audiobooks as the guy that reads them does the voices perfectly and he's the reader through all of the books

Good doggo

ConnieK November 04, 2020

I think we all want those flying cars...

auburn_girl November 04, 2020

I've been putting off buying the new Strike mystery because books are outrageously expensive up here in the great white north, especially when they first come out. Maybe I'll get a copy for Christmas.

josh auburn_girl ⋅ November 04, 2020

You might consider doing a free Audible trial. The person they have reading the audiobooks is fantastic

Mr. Mofo November 04, 2020

Schweet baybee Jayzuz do I love the term, "doomscrolling"!!!

Gangleri November 04, 2020

I need more info about Nepenthe. I wanta know about angry rabbits.

Always Laughing November 09, 2020

Part of living in PA that I love is having 4 seasons. And fall is my favorite.

paul4422 May 24, 2021

Marty Mcfly Jacket This red and grey jacket has been made from high quality synthetic leather. The inner side has been lined with soft viscose material.

eastonuni September 19, 2022

Heyy I'm Sawyer Holden  CEO of Shamora Material Industry Technology Co., Limited is a magnesium powder supplier in Wenxi, China. With an engaged methodology, complete assets, and quality help; we are driving our direction in the magnesium powder supplier

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.