All Souls Day - Found it! in These titles mean nothing.

  • Nov. 2, 2020, 3:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Van Halen notBon Jovi or REM.

This is my favorite day. The three come in a row = Halloween, All Saints and All Souls. If all Saints includes everyone in heaven - including those we knew when they were here with us, then All Souls is even more inclusive. It includes all who are and who have ever been. It includes those in hell if you choose to believe in hell, it includes everyone who is alive right now, and perhaps is even proactive and includes all that ever will be.

Just had a thought to please the new supreme court judge - it probably includes the souls of all the aborted babies. I used to think the souls of babies were in a line before conception and if they didn’t make it to birth and life, they just took their previous place in line and had another chance.

I don’t know if this all sounds silly coming from me. You all know I’m not a big believer in much of anything. All we can be certain of is the here and now - one second, one minute, one lifetime at a time. That’s enough for me. I have a certain fondness for the Catholic church and perhaps for the kind parts of the Bible, but I don’t let it rule my life.

I was so pleased to see the saint discussion in the notes on my most recent entry. It was the Canadians of course. My Catholic persuaded Canadian friends were discussing sainthood and its methods.

There weren’t many books in this house when I was a kid. One was a Lives of the Saints - a thick paper bound pink book that as I recall was kept on the shelf of the one downstairs closet. That is the same closet I scared potential daughterinlaw Deb, by telling her to close the door so IT would not get out. It might have been the saints - what do you think? Lutheran raised and Catholic college educated Deb was sure as heck startled at the comment. I thought I’d been joking.

==============

Anyway. We are here. It is now. So that is what we have. I have a song I can’t find - a rock song from decades ago. REM or Bon Jovi I thought but I can’t find it now. CBC’s Much Music would play it in the ’80s. Right Now. Repeated . Right now God is killing mothers. Right now. God is killing dogs.

How can you beat truth like that? All the sainted mothers. All the sainted dogs. All the ones who’ve ever lived. Including you and me.

When Jim comes in I’ll ask him. If he has an answer I’ll come back and tell you.

Meanwhile....


Last updated November 03, 2020


gattaca November 02, 2020 (edited November 02, 2020)

Edited

This is also my favorite day. I celebrate it the way it's done in Mexico - steeped in tradition. My adopted family there prepares to spend the night in the church cemetery where their relatives are buried. I have spent a couple of those holidays with them.

https://dayofthedead.holiday/

noko November 02, 2020

Last year our Mexican embassy was festively decorated for the day. It was so cheerful and connected.

That is one scary closet.

WhatDreamsMayCome November 03, 2020

I like the way you characterize All Souls Day.
(And good taste in music!)

Serin November 04, 2020

I'm a little surprised Much Music got to you, but it's actually not CBC. A private company called CityTV scraped together Much, and it was a good channel for a while. But my favourite thing was that they had "Speaker's Corner" which I've walked by but never tried. It was a video booth where you could record messages. Rants, or stories, or greetings, and they'd pick some and put them on the air.

Sadly, they got bought by a conglomerate, and all that's left is the old news van bursting out of the wall

https://www.blogto.com/upload/2007/06/20070630_truck.jpg

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ November 04, 2020

We had satellite tv and cbc was a part of it =- back when the dishes were 12 or more feet in diameter. We watched Riverdale and the Graham Greene as a native policeman series up north and my total favorite - the whole week of Coronation Street on Sunday mornings.

Serin woman in the moon ⋅ November 05, 2020

My friend had one of those in college days. As much as the exotic channels, the big discovery for us was the blank windows for commercials to be inserted.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ November 05, 2020

Yes, and the feeds for people who were going to be interviewed or reporters waiting for their turn to talk. I would watch Diana Sawyer perfecting her lapels as she waited for her moments on air.

NorthernSeeker November 06, 2020

I love Sympathy For the Devil. Much Music is still part of my tv package.

NorthernSeeker November 07, 2020

Happy happy happy Saturday election news!

ConnieK November 11, 2020

Learned something today. I thought All Saints Day and All Souls Day were one and the same. The Bible is more of a guidebook to me. I don't believe it is all the true word of God as it was written by men and has been translated loosely. Many of the words in the original text have different meanings than what we interpret.

woman in the moon ConnieK ⋅ November 11, 2020

The church liturgy/calendar, etc. were meant to appeal to all classes of people. I remember reading the novel Song of Bernadette and that was explained. Like stained glass windows also appealed to the poor and uneducated. Oh wow, what have we become? Beats me.
I like to read the Gospels and intend to get to the Epistles but don't.

ConnieK woman in the moon ⋅ November 11, 2020

Gospels are good. I like the book of James. I always intend to read the OT through but get bogged down at the "begats" and building the temple.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.