Odd little political story... in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 22, 2020, 7:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We have a nice grocery store in my town. It’s part of a small chain and it can be counted on for good product, decent prices and good service. It has young people who pack your groceries, cart them out to the car and put them in the back seat or trunk or where ever you want them. The carry out people are carefully trained to make small talk and it’s often a delightful little experience to have your groceries taken care of for you.

Yesterday my carry out person was a young woman who didn’t seem very enthusiastic about her task. On the way out of the store she adjusted her mask and asked me something about whether it bothered me. I said no, it was ok. She said she didn’t like wearing it but it was required. She would be fired if she didn’t wear a mask. I said my usual, I’m sorry that the whole mask thing has become so political. And I am. I dislike that it has become a sort of pro- or anti- Trump sign. She asked if I had heard what Biden was going to do? I said, About what? About masks, she said. If he is elected he will make us wear them for four more years. By then we were at the car and had the groceries in the trunk. I didn’t really have anything else to say, though afterwards I wish I had asked her if she was old enough to vote and if she planned to vote.

There is a little more to the story but it is personal to her and I don’t know if I want to share it.


juliuslargo October 22, 2020

To be honest and as hard as it is to say I've kind of grown to like the mask, it's almost like a weird security blanket. It's been kind of nice not having to worry about smiling when I see people I know. that being said sometimes I wonder if people know I'm joking if they can't see me smile, but that's a whole other set of problems.

On a side note I think the whole world has become to polarized politically. I've considered not voting this election because I really don't care for either dog in this fight. I don't feel like it's any longer a government for the people by the people. I mean I suppose these are people but their not my people.

Beret October 22, 2020

We've been under an order to wear a mask since last April. I'm not sure how much pushback stores, etc., receive at this point in time. It's like second nature to wear it now. Let me guess, Fareway?

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ October 22, 2020

Yes. The girl who was tall and somewhat overweight - not a looker- did not fill the grocery bags - she let the checker do that, or put the bags in the cart, she let me do that. She didn't push the cart out of the store, she let me do that, and then she let me put most of the stuff in the car. She did lift in the heavy pop cartons and she did take the cart back to the store. I looked at her face - not sure if the mask was off or just askew - and she had a lot of red sores on her face. That's all stuff I didn't want to put up in my entry. I doubt I'll see her there again. The store personnel are all friendly and happy and do not engage in 'political' conversation. Though I feel sorry because a job like that is an opportunity in a town like mine.

Deleted user woman in the moon ⋅ October 23, 2020

She probably should cover her face anyway if it's oozing sores

noko October 23, 2020

I can understand why she might be upset at the imagined prospect of wearing a mask for four years but not why she didn't help with the groceries.

NorthernSeeker October 24, 2020

I'm getting used to wearing masks around...in fact I forget to pull them down when the streets are clear. I think it is wise when oversharing does not beget more oversharing.

Serin October 24, 2020

I'm more sympathetic than I expected to be about human-facing employees wearing masks because it's different between masking for a few hours of errands versus every day all day.

I wear my mask with 100% indifference to presidential politics. I don't think it would be different if I were south of the 49th.

Jinn October 25, 2020

I wear a mask and I do not think it’s too much to expect them to as well. If they want to pull it down when they are not interacting with people or taking a break, I understand. I know it’s uncomfortable. However I do think they are helping to slow the virus .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.