What isn't.* in Pandemic

Revised: 10/19/2020 10:38 a.m.

  • Oct. 19, 2020, 9:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I was anticipating the breakup, but before it actually happened, I wrote him a letter. In it, I detailed all of the trips we took, the memories contained in them, because, I wrote, if we break up it will be a long, long time before I’m able to roll those memories around in my mind without it being too painful. I want you to know, I wrote, that those memories mattered. It all mattered.

This is what nobody told me would happen once the finality of the relationship sunk in: you will lose six years of your life.

I don’t mean that those years were wasted; I did a lot, learned a lot, traveled outside of North America for the first time as an adult, had crazy sexual experiences, cuddled a bunch of dogs, blew away my preconceived notions of how I could be. But most of them are inextricable from him, and anything linked to him just makes me sad now. I’m operating in this precarious place where at any moment, something will spark a memory and tip me over into sadness.

I’m in San Francisco now, only for six nights, and it’s harder than I thought it would be. It’s my first time being in the city when he’s been here, but also permanently gone. He has a new girlfriend, or at least a new “situation,” and there is something about one-sided mourning that magnifies the grief so much more than shared, if distanced, sadness.

It’s a season of layered trauma. After seven months gone and four months without visiting, I returned to city that has shrunk to only two friends, one of whom seems ambivalent about hanging out, who canceled on me at the last minute tonight. I have two other friends who live outside of the city, a distance that requires advanced planning, you know?

My brother and his wife are returning from India to their home in Boston in a month or two. They’re planning on going to Oregon to stay with my parents for a month over Christmas, and when my mother tells me this, she says that they’ll have my bedroom there. That’s fine, I think, it’s a big room and there’s two of them. But there are weird undertones when my mother talks about their visit. Finally, I venture, “I can just stay in the sewing room?” It’s a three-bedroom house, and the sewing room has a little foam couch that folds out into a bed.

She hesitates. “I told [my brother and his wife] they could use the sewing room for their office, since they both work from home.”

There won’t be room for me, is what she’s saying.

These last few days, I find myself thinking about how easy it was to slip through the cracks. To arrive fully into adulthood, to be in a big city, to have parents and a new sister-in-law, to have spent my twenties weaving through bars in four-inch heels as nameless men reached out to lightly touch my bare arms as if to say, “A moment of your time, please?” and, despite all of that, despite all the parties and all of the classes and all of the workouts and the laughter and the ridiculousness and the therapy and the casual conversations with anyone who would talk to me…how I somehow landed in a life that is marked more by what isn’t than what is.

***LONG RANTY UPDATE:
there was a long ranty update here, but it’s embarrassing, so I deleted it!


Last updated October 20, 2020


Silver Dolphin October 19, 2020

Show them your damn diary. I mean, I know you never would in a million years, obviously, but no one who reads you could ever possibly think the phrase "intellectually worthless", we've seen your mind at work.

That whole paragraph about slipping through the cracks and arriving fully into adulthood? (And kinda losing six years of your life?) ... I feel that.

eleven:eleven October 19, 2020

Um. Your family kind of sucks :/

I think if this was the beforetimes I could see how having an extended house guest who is able to work but is "choosing" not to would eventually wear them down (though, I don't REALLY get it, because in my culture it's super super super normal for multiple generations to live under the same roof). But this is very much not the beforetimes and so many families are in this exact situation and it's bizarre that they are making you feel like some kind of failure.

Also... your brother has been living with his in laws for the last 7 months so I don't get how/why he's on his high horse??? BIZARRE.

I hope when they're older they don't expect you to care for them.

eleven:eleven October 19, 2020

Also your website looks awesome and I can't wait until you're ready to sell!

rhizome October 20, 2020

you had your shit 100% together, but a pandemic throws everything up in the air. so many of my friends and family members are struggling right now — it’s obviously not a christy-specific problem. i think you’re dope as hell for knowing and pursuing the work that you love, fighting covid-misinformation on the internet, and for taking time to grieve your losses.

bro, i wish i could see you rn! my life is just such a disaster in the middle of this job hunt, and my stress levels are through the roof. i still like you very much though, ok? REAL TALK, i want to tell you about the dream i just had about a lesbian foursome with the weirdest combo of people EVER

oh, and trust, just because someone’s in a new relationship, it doesn’t mean they aren’t grieving you too. i cannot tell you the number of tearful conversations i’ve had with new partners about ex partners. <3

Alice, Falling rhizome ⋅ October 20, 2020

AWW, this is just what I needed <3 You're the best and the next time I'm in town, I'm gonna harass you to hang out with me. And I want to hear about the lesbian foursome regardless, but especially if Britney is involved.

xoxoxoxo

rhizome Alice, Falling ⋅ October 20, 2020

ok ok ok, here was the lineup:

-me
-i was banging the hot girl from booksmart (the one who got barfed on), next to
-my heroin bestie jess, who used to irl makeout with our other bestie brittany (not the famous one), who was with
-this hot asexual lesbian i went on one date with before accidentally sexually harassing her about my bra

brain, wut r u doing

Alice, Falling rhizome ⋅ October 22, 2020

OK THAT'S FUN!

Thrice October 22, 2020

pain.ful. holdiays are the worst when it comes to family - for some of us. Me too. UGH.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.